Sunday Post #36: Let’s Buy All The Books!

sunday post 2

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Don’t you just hate runny nose and sneezing constantly? I’m feeling under the weather but I have no time to rest!

I'm sick gif
I should’ve done this before but sometimes change is scary.

BUT I know I have to do this: I’m changing my book review’s format. Instead of writing it paragraph style, I’m changing it to list-style. The format goes something like this.

What I liked about the book

  • Reasons
  • Reasons
  • Reasons

What I didn’t like about the book

  • Reasons
  • Reasons
  • Reasons

Conclusion

The main reason for the change is that I’ve come to hate writing reviews. Don’t get me wrong, I love blogging and talking about books, I could talk about books all day all night. And if you explore my blog there are probably hundreds of book reviews I’ve written. At first writing reviews are fun but after some time it becomes a routine and predictable, especially when the book is amazing and awesome. The book you’ve read is great, it has a thrilling plot, great characters, what more can you say? Whenever I write a review nowadays I feel like I’m only repeating what I said in my previous posts. Sometimes I feel like I’m just rambling to make a reviews longer.

And honestly, I don’t want to churn out mediocre reviews, hence the change in my review format.

With this new format we all can skip the flowery words and bad metaphors and get straight to the good, the bad, and the ugly parts of the book. The length of my posts will probably be shorter but the reviews would have more quality. Quality over quantity, right?

All the write stuff

What are you up to this month? In October I’ll be joining #HeistClub, an online writing workshop for crime fiction (I knoooow! Me? Writing crime fiction? Unbelievable!) and NaNoWriMo in November. This month I’m supposed to be plotting and getting ready for these two writing events. But have I plotted my story yet? NOPE.

In my defense, I’m researching, or at least that’s what I tell myself whenever I open Scrivener to start plotting. I’m knee-deep in mystery books. I’ve finished Creep and Freak by Jennifer Hillier which are two FANTASTIC books, and right now I’m reading Lee Child’s Worth Dying For (I’m a HUGE Lee Child fangirl).

And I just finished watching the season two of Elementary! I think I’m in love with Jonny Lee Miller (and his hair in season 2). And I started seeing random things as potential murder weapons. Sorry not sorry.
sorry not sorry gif

New book alert

Katie Cross just released a new book called The High Priest’s Daughter and you should definitely go and read it.

the high priest's daughter

Not convinced yet? Here are my reviews of the previous books in the series:

 

That’s all from me for this week folks!

P.S.

By the time you read this I’ll already be at the MIBF in Pasay grabbing all the books I can find!
manila intrnational book fair 2015

wave good bye gif

4 thoughts on “Sunday Post #36: Let’s Buy All The Books!

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them