REVIEW: The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1) by Lindsay Cummings

the murder complex books keep me saneTitle: The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1)

Author: Lindsay Cummings

Genre: YA Dystopia

Release Date: June 10th 2014

Purchase: Amazon (KindlePaperback)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower ratingflower rating

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?
Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

my thoughts graphic

I have wanted to read The Murder Complex ever since I laid eyes on the cover. The title also left a very strong impression in me. Murders! Who doesn’t want to read about them?

Continue reading

Bout of Books Read-a-thon #14: What To Read Next? + Reading Update

Bout of Books
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 17th and runs through Sunday, August 23rd in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 14 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team
Bout of Books officially ends tonight and it has been a rough and fun ride! This was my first Bout of Books and it’s definitely not my last. The excuse to read more books was great, but the interaction with the bookish community was priceless. So now I’m going to participate in one last challenge– the What To Read Next Challenge!
Disclaimer: These are my Most Anticiated Books of 2015 so extreme fangirling may occur.
excited hilarious

Continue reading

Bout of Books Read-a-thon #14: Book Road Trip + Reading Update

Bout of Books
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 17th and runs through Sunday, August 23rd in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 14 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team
 Bout of Books is ending soon and I had real fun! I just love doing the challenges and chatting with fellow bookworms on Twitter. For today, I’m doing the Book Road Trip challenge.

Here’s the rule for this challenge:

For this challenge, come up with a list of the top 4-5 states/places you’d love to visit and find a book (you either read or want to read) that takes place in that state/place or a book by an author who lives or is from there. :]

Without further ado, here’s my list! (but first a Sherlock gif)

Sherlock-Dance

Continue reading

Bout of Books Read-a-thon #14: Four Seasons Book Cover Challenge + Reading Update

Bout of Books
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 17th and runs through Sunday, August 23rd in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 14 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team
Hi guys! Are you participating in Bout of Books? I’m really enjoying the challenges and the excuse to read more books.
read-gif
Today I’m participating in the Four Seasons Book Cover Challenge. It was very fun browsing pretty covers and hunting for the perfect ones to use in the challenge.

Continue reading

Bout of Books Read-a-thon #14: Book Scavenger Hunt + Reading Update

Bout of Books
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 17th and runs through Sunday, August 23rd in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 14 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team
I’m really enjoying Bout of Books and the challenge of reading more books! For today I’m participating in the Book Scavenger Hunt, and I’m also going to give you an update on my reading progress.

Continue reading