REVIEW: Learning to Fall (Addison Hill #3) by Mina V. Esguerra

learning to fall books keep me saneTitle: Learning to Fall (Addison Hill #3)

Author: Mina V. Esguerra

Genre: NA Romance

Release Date: October 6th 2015

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower ratingflower ratingflower ratingflower rating

“Go out with a stereotypical romance novel hero WHO ISN’T YOUR TYPE.”

Avid reader and art student Steph is participating in a monthly blog challenge to Live Like Fiction, and this was the task for October. When Grayson, former co-captain of her university rugby team, walks into her class, she knows it’s meant to be – she has to go out with this guy. Even if she’s never been attracted to big, hunky, athletic types. With Grayson’s “player” reputation off the field, Steph thinks he’ll be good for one date that’ll be worth blogging about, and that’s it.

But you know how it goes: Soon, it becomes more than just one date – and Steph and Grayson are caught up in “living like fiction.” How long can they keep playing their roles before reality steps in?

my thoughts graphic

I was so excited to get an advance copy of Learning To Fall, and for a good reason. It’s not a secret that I’m a huge fan of Mina V. Esguerra. And I was really intrigued with the book because it was a love story about a rugby player named Grayson and a book blogger named Steph. I don’t know much about rugby, but Steph is practically a sister from another mother.

What I liked about the book

  • Steph and her blogging woes —I instantly liked Steph because she’s a book blogger. But what made me love her more was how much we have in common. In the book she took some time off blogging because reading and blogging had overtaken her life to the point that she would ignore her schoolwork so she could read more books. This sounds familiar to me. Oh, wait! It’s because the same thing happened to me! I would ignore my homework and procrastinate on my projects because I would rather read a book. This habit had some real (and rather ugly) consequences for both me and Steph. Like her, I messed up my studies.
  • The Live Like Fiction challenge — I love the idea of the Live Like Fiction challenge. It pushes you out of your comfort zone discover new things that you didn’t know could be fun. I was especially delighted when the author included the whole Live Like Fiction list at the end of the book because I want to try it too!
  • Grayson and rugby —I don’t know much about rugby, or any sport for that matter. But this book made me a little curious about it. I google the sport and now I know more about it that I care to admit. 😉 And Grayson is so charming and so crushable. Ugh, my ovaries.
  • The post-graduation woes —Just like Steph, I’m a little scared of finishing college. What would it be like in the real world? What if I mess up? It’s such a scary thought and Esguerra really captures what it’s like to be at this point in life where everyone expects you to have a smooth transition from being a college student to becoming an independent, responsible adult.

What I didn’t like about the book

  • There were times when I felt confused about where Steph and Grayson’s relationship was going.

Conclusion

Five well-deserved stars! I loved reading it so much. Steph’s is like my life twin! This is now my new favorite Mina V. Esguerra book.

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Learning to Fall (Addison Hill #3) by Mina V. Esguerra

  1. Isn’t it awesome that Mina wrote a book with a book blogger main character? 🙂 I really enjoyed reading Learning to Fall and I need to work on my review! Like you, I could totally relate to Steph and the book blogging aspect of her life. I also know next to nothing about rugby but still had fun reading about it.

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

