REVIEW: Killing Floor (Jack Reacher #1) by Lee Child

killing floor books keep me saneTitle: Killing Floor (Jack Reacher #1)

Author: Lee Child

Genre: Mystery Thriller

Release Date: March 17th 1997

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle, Paperback)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Ex-military policeman Jack reacher is a drifter. He’s just passing through Margrave, Georgia, and in less than an hour, he’s arrested for murder. Not much of a welcome. All Jack knows is that he didn’t kill anybody. At least not here. Not lately. But he doesn’t stand a chance of convincing anyone. not in Margrave, Georgia. Not a chance in hell.

mythoughts

After reading Killing Floor I asked myself this question: Why did I wait so long before reading Lee Child’s books?

Where should I start? Hmm. I guess I should start by saying Jack Reacher is not a good person. I don’t know if this is only me but a lot of the protagonists in crime fiction novels are too good. They refuse to kill someone even though they’re obviously bad people. Or sometimes they are too trusting for their own good. But Jack Reacher is different. He can kill a man with his bare hands in two seconds flat and he’s not afraid to use his skills.

“I had to decide how to use that pressure. I had to decide whether it was going to crush me or turn me into a diamond.”

He’s not a bad person either. He doesn’t hurt people just for the heck of it but he doesn’t hesitate to retaliate when someone wrongs him. I think this is what draws the reader to him—he’s like a walking contradiction!

I worked thirteen years, got me nowhere. I feel like I tried it their way, and to hell with them. Now I’m going to try it my way.”

I should say that Lee Child’s writing is very plain. He’s not a fan of flowery words and he goes straight to the point—and it works. When you’re reading a book with such complex plot and so many minute details, adding unnecessary flowery words can be ‘heavy’ on the reader.

And speaking of the plot, I really admire how every thingfits like a complete puzzle. Every little detail, every action has an explanation. I’m mind-blown by how Child excellently strings the events. He knows how and when to drop a plot-bomb that would totally shock the reader. Kudos to him too for creating a crime hero that is human in a sense that he makes mistakes, relatable, dynamic and imperfect.

I should also warn you that Killing Floor is not for the faint of heart (or stomach). There were some scenes that were very disturbing. There was one scene where it almost made me puke!

Crime fiction novels don’t typically make me very emotional. Sure, they are thrilling and shocking but this is the very first time that a crime fiction novel made me cry SO HARD. Even when Lee Child’s writing is ‘plain’ it doesn’t lack the ‘heart’ that makes a great novel great.

I definitely recommend it to people who like to read thrilling and fast-paced novels with complex plots and great attention to details.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

