Books Keep Me Sane Has A New Look!

new look banner

 

Books Keep Me Sane is one year and eight months now but I’ve had the same theme ever since I started.

To be honest, I am a total design freak but I’m very picky too. Last year I did say that I’m going to change my theme, and then 2014 ended and I still haven’t changed my blog’s look. I HATED the way it looked but I was too lazy to change it. So I made it a point to finally do it this 2015.

In case you didn’t know, the typography of my old theme was inspired by Pretty Little Liars because at that time I really liked PLL.

books keep me sane typography

 

 

pretty little liars

 

I didn’t know where to start with redesigning my blog so I chose to base the design on Shadow and Bone’s cover.

 

shadow and bone books keep me sane

 

Here’s how the first design looked:

 

jeweled bones

 

Yeah, not so good. It looked too gloomy for me and I couldn’t find the right font for the design so I chucked it and worked on a new one.

The hardest part of this process (or any design process for that matter) for me was finding the right font for the design. I’m so indecisive too and I couldn’t stick to just one decision.

Since the last design was so gloomy, I wanted the next one to be vibrant with bright colors and beautiful images. I’m really obsessed with anything and everything watercolor so I searched for a bunch of watercolor tutorial and watercolor flowers.

So, without further ado, here’s the final look:

books keep me sane screenshot

I chose the Truly Minimal Theme for this one because I like its simplicity. I don’t want my blog to be too cluttered, and you know what they say—less is more!

If you’re reading this through RSS or email, I urge you to click here to view the blog itself.

I’m happy with how it turned out (for now) but I’m pretty sure I would have the itch to change it again, let’s hope it doesn’t take almost two years to make that happen.

8 thoughts on “Books Keep Me Sane Has A New Look!

  1. It looks really nice! I love everything about it. It’s colourful, it’s pretty, it’s happy, and I think you’ll have a lot of fun with it 🙂

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

