Sunday Post #30: Wanna Help an Aspiring Writer?

sunday post

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

Hey guys! Welcome to another edition of Sunday Post. First of all, I would like to wish you a happy Sunday!

dancing gif

In my life

Uni is keeping me busy all the time but what’s new? 🙂 I’m halfway through editing my NaNoWriMo novel and I’m also writing a novella right now. At the start of the year I made a promise to myself that this will be the year that I’ll publish my own book! It’s a lifelong dream for me to be a writer.

writing gif

The weather in this part of the world is getting very cold and it’s harder and harder to wake up every morning. I would much rather stay in bed all day, wrapped in warm blankets and reading a good book. But sadly, that’s not the case for me because life always interferes.

On the blog

In line with the New Year, I’m thinking for redesigning my blog. I know I said the same thing last year but never got to it but this time I am determined to make that happen. The problem is that I can’t seem to find the right font, or the right graphic for it. There’s already this design in my head but I can’t make it a reality. It’s just so frustrating!

I also approved a number of review requests from authors, hopefully I can post them on time. (I am known as a chronic procrastinator when it comes to writing reviews.)

Need a Little Help Here

So, you know I’m editing a novel now, right? I am halfway through editing the first draft but I need some fresh eyes to evaluate and critique my manuscript. It’s still rough around the edges. I can’t put a finger on it but I think my manuscript needs a little more oomph, you know?

I know that your time is very valuable and I would really appreciate it if you beta-read my manuscript. When I finished my first draft it was 50,500 words long but I’m rewriting it now so who knows what the final word count is going to be. But the word account of the second draft is somewhere in that zone. Here’s some info about my manuscript: It’s a NA romance fiction set (mostly) in New York and Japan. The main characters are involved in the Yakuza, the girl is the daughter of the clan leader while the guy is her childhood friend and love interest. If you’re into NA romance, I would really appreciate if you beta-read my novel. The second draft which you’ll beta-read, should you choose to accept it, will be finished in February so you’ll have Feb to March to beta-read it.

You can't say no to a cat, much less three cats

You can’t say no to a cat, much less three cats

If you’re interested, please send me an email through the Contact Page or through bookskeepmesane at gmail dot com. 🙂

17 thoughts on “Sunday Post #30: Wanna Help an Aspiring Writer?

  1. Congratulations on making such progress! I’ve never had the discipline or drive to write so I’m always amazed by those who do. I don’t think I’ve read any NA romance so I’m probably not the best beta reader but I wish you lots of luck! I understand about not wanting to get out of bed in this cold. I used to be up at 630 on the dot with no problem but the fast few months it’s so hard to leave my warm bed. Have a great week!

    • Lemme tell you a secret: I’m not a very disciplined person when it comes to committing to tasks– I’m still amazed how I can stay focus and meet my deadlines when I’m writing! I guess when you want it enough, you develop the patience to finish the task! 😀 Have a great week! 🙂

  2. Congrats on finishing NaNoWrMo mine still needs an ending. I’m bad at endings. I’d offer to beta-read for you but I’m slammed with work, kids, and reviews. Good Luck!

    • I used to be bad with endings too! If it helps, try visualizing the ending first before writing the story, and work backwards. This technique has helped some of my author friends, I hope it works for you too 🙂

  3. Love your Jensen Ackles gif 🙂 It’s good that you’re so willing to publish your first novel, yay ! I don’t really have time to beta read now or I would, I love the Japanese culture. Have a great week 😉

  4. Pingback: My Week in a Wrapped #18 | EverythingNyze

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

