REVIEW: Champion (Legend #3) by Marie Lu

champion books keep me saneTitle: Champion (Legend #3)

Author: Marie Lu

Genre: YA Dystopia

Release Date:  November 5th 2013

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Hardcover)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.

Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

mythoughts

I really like Legend and Prodigy but I must say Champion is my favorite of the three. The conclusion to the Legend trilogy was fast-paced and full of shocking revelations. This is not for the faint of heart.

In the first two books in the trilogy we see how Day’s and June’s character growth and how they faced each obstacles that almost tear them apart. They have already sacrificed so much for their country and now Republic is facing a new challenge. The peace treaty promises a new hope for the people of the Republic but the plague outbreak in the Colonies threaten the Republic’s people again. The Republic soldiers can defeat the Colonies but not with the Colonies having a new ally.

Champion was really intense! I couldn’t put the book down. In Prodigy we thought June and Day’s relationship was really doomed with no hope but in the third book we see that maybe there is hope for the both of them. After months of being separated, they’ve been reunited, if only because of a very dire situation. And even though Day loves June very much, he is still haunted by the fact that June is the reason he lost his family.

“You drive me insane June. You’re the scariest, most clever, bravest person I know, and sometimes I can’t catch my breath because I’m trying so hard to keep up. There will never be another like you. You realize that, don’t you? Billions of people will come and go in this world, but there will never be another like you.”

Another character I want to point out is Anden, I came to admire his leadership and his ideals in Champion. I see a very good and strong Republic leader in him. Sometimes I feel bad when he needs to choose a really tough decision. He was just a young man but he has to shoulder the burden of running a nation in chaos.

Let’s not forget how Champion made me bawl like a five-year-old. I never really liked Thomas since the first book, he was too formal and uptight and loyal to a fault. But in Champion, I learned to sympathize with him a bit (just a little bit and I did a lot of crying along with the sympathizing). When he confessed to June I saw a different side of him. Somehow I understood why he did what he did but I still feel it was a little cowardly of him to do that. (Forgive for being really vague here, if I reveal more then I’d spoil the book for you.) I don’t understand how he can be so blindly obedient to someone or something. But being obedient requires discipline and that’s what I really admire about him.

“I took an oath June. I am still bound by that oath. I will die with honor for sacrificing everything I have-everything-for my country.. And yet, Day is a legend, while I am to be executed.” His voice finally breaks with all his anger and inner torment, the injustice he feels.”

I can’t decide if I love the ending or not. I totally didn’t expect it to turn that way and it really surprised me. If you have read Champion, I’m sure you too didn’t see it coming. But was the ending right? I think so. I think June needed some kind of redemption so that Day could love her without always being reminded of June’s sin to him. Although Day and June didn’t exactly fly off into the sunset and live happily ever after, it was only right to give them a clean slate to start over.

Do I recommend that you read the book too? Definitely, yes!

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “REVIEW: Champion (Legend #3) by Marie Lu

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

