Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo

Siege and Storm (The Grisha, #2)Title: Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2)

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Genre: YA Fantasy

Release Date: June 4th 2012

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Hardcover)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Darkness never dies.

Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

mythoughts

Sigh. This book is just perfect.

I really like fantasy books when they have a map of the places where events happen in a book. The map on the first few pages in this book is really cute and it makes it easier for me to trace the characters’ journey in and out of Ravka. It makes the story more vivid in your mind.

All the charming and memorable and lovable characters from the first book are back with some new and interesting characters to add. One of them is Nikolai. Nikolai is—where do I start? — he’s charming, funny, smart and witty. And for some reason he reminds me of Captain Jack Sparrow from the Pirates of the Caribbean. Maybe it’s the way they both spout witty lines or the way they act. Bardugo has a knack for creating memorable characters.

“My mother was an oyster,” he said with a wink. “And I’m the pearl.”

He’s also a very confident man who is honest and he also always believes in his capabilities.

“When people say impossible, they usually mean improbable.”

“Anything worth doing always starts as a bad idea.”

I know, I know I’m totally fangirling right now but you get my point, I love him to bits. However, he is still a mystery to me. Is he really an ally or an enemy?

The villain of the story, the Darkling is up to no good again, no surprise with that. This time he discovered a new amplifier that can make the sun summoner, Alina, become even more powerful.

“There are no others like us, Alina,” he whispered. “And there never will be.”

But what surprises me in this book is that it seems like the power is finally getting to Alina’s head. There is a shift in her character, like she’s—not really evil, but not so good either. I know they are not perfect and they make mistakes but the most noticeable change I found was in Alina. My attention is definitely piqued at this new development in Alina’s attitude.

It is amazing how some author can incorporate romance in a very effective way in a book where it is not the main theme and this book is one of those books. I can’t help but feel giddy with Mal and Alina. Clearly, they are a match made in heaven.

“I have loved you all my life, Mal,” I whispered through my tears. “There is no end to our story.”

The events in the book are all exciting and action-packed but I didn’t anticipate what would happen to Alina at the end of Siege and Storm. It really surprised me—in a good or bad way I am not sure. But this just makes me more and more excited for the third book to the trilogy, Ruin and Rising, coming this 2014.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “Siege and Storm (The Grisha #2) by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post #5: ‘Tis the Season to Celebrate | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

