REVIEW: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1) by Stephanie Perkins

anna and the french kiss books keep me saneTitle: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1)

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: December 2nd 2010

Purchase: Amazon (Paperback or Kindle)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris–until she meets Étienne St. Clair. Smart, charming,beautiful, Étienne has it all…including a serious girlfriend.

But in the City of Light, wishes have a way of coming true. Will a year of romantic near-misses end with their long-awaited French kiss?

mythoughts

I don’t know how to begin this. Anna and the French Kiss was just so fun to read! I felt like a giddy teenager while following Anna’s quest for love in the most romantic city in the world.

Most teenagers would kill to have the chance to go to school to boarding school in Paris. I know I would. But Anna is not most teenagers. She already built her life in America so why would she uproot everything and start over? But she really didn’t have a choice in the matter.

“The only French word I know is oui, which means “yes,” and only recently did I learn it’s spelled o-​u-​i and not w-​e-​e.”

Reading Anna and the French Kiss was like being in Paris myself! Every detail was so vivid, so surreal, I felt like I was with Anna in each place she visits. Of course, I also dream of going to Paris, who doesn’t?

Étienne is undeniably hot! He has great hair, a great sense of humor and –gasp- great accent. Hmm I wouldn’t mind that sexy English accent whispering in my ear all day. He has a lot of good qualities but he also has some flaws. For one, he’s not so good with making decisions. He kept hurting Anna and there were some parts of the story where I just wanted to kick his teeth in because he just can’t make up his mind. He’s a good-looking guy but that doesn’t excuse him from leading on other people.

“I’m a little distracted by this English French American Boy Masterpiece.”

I love Anna, I absolutely adore her but I hate her situation. I know she didn’t mean to but she wrecked Ellie and Etienne’s relationship. I know Ellie and Etienne wasn’t the greatest couple ever but I hated Anna’s role as the wrecker of the relationship. If I liked a guy and he’s not available, I would back off. But Anna didn’t, she kept kissing and dreaming of Etienne. Don’t get me wrong, I like her. But I hate her situation. And I feel really bad for Ellie. I feel horrible about this, am I the only one who hates Anna’s situation?

“Boys turns girls into such idiots.”

Anna and the French Kiss was a really fun novel to read. I really enjoyed it, and not just the love story bit but also everything about Paris. I think it was a cute story and I must admit I have a little crush on Étienne. But he really sucks when he can’t make up his mind. I would recommend Anna and the French Kiss to anyone who’s into young adult romance which also acts like a tourist map for anyone who wants to visit Paris. The fact that there’s a cute guy involved doesn’t hurt.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1) by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #25: What I Like/Dislike In Romance Novels | Books Keep Me Sane

  2. Pingback: Freebie Friday: Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins [INT] | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them