REVIEW: Beautiful Monster (Beautiful Monster #1) by Bella Forrest

beautiful monster books keep me saneTitle: Beautiful Monster (Beautiful Monster #1)

Author: Bella Forrest

Genre: Paranormal

Release Date:  May 12th 2013

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Paperback)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Liam Swift is a young man Amy has always admired from afar. She’s seen his face a thousand times; on the screen and in magazines.

He seems unstoppable as his talent and beauty send him hurtling toward becoming a Hollywood legend… Until one day – in what appears to be a fit of madness – he stuns the world by throwing it all away. Not even the most persistent reporter can fathom the reason behind Liam’s decision.

Never in Amy’s wildest dreams could she have imagined this God of acting would go on to accept employment at her local boarding school. Or that he’d personally start teaching her drama lessons.

It seems life can’t get much better for Amy … until the sound of tortured weeping starts echoing through the thin walls of her dorm room each night, leading her to stumble upon a horrifying secret Liam had hoped to keep hidden forever.

mythoughts

I may not be the biggest fan of vampire novels but I certainly am a fan of Beautiful Monster.

All her life Amy lived a sheltered life. She was deprived of a normal childhood, a normal life because of her illness which was a constant reminder that her life would end sooner than the rest of us. But having HIV didn’t stop her from dreaming to be an actress. She would sneak to a nearby drama school and learn the ropes of acting. One day her life would change forever when she wandered the wrong hallway and ended up auditioning for something she knew nothing about.

I am not a huge fan of any novels with vampires in it. Vampires are the bane of my existence. It’s not really them that I fear, it’s what they drink. Yes, I have the irrational fear of blood and that is why I avoid novels with violent themes and gore. But curiosity always killed the cat and so I read Beautiful Monster.

Beautiful Monster is a great read! I didn’t expect much from it but it wowed me. The gore was kept to a minimal and so I didn’t feel like puking while reading the book. The love story wasn’t so cheesy either, which I like. Thank God Amy was an intelligent woman who is full of wisdom beyond her years, unlike the female protagonists from other vampire novels who act like lovesick, dumb teenagers.

I have read one of Forrester’s vampire novels before, A Shade of Vampire, and I liked that book too. Her books are some of the very few vampire novels that I have read and liked. Her writing is really great and I love how she portrayed the vampires in her novel, not too perfect and not to evil either.

Another thing that I love about the book is it raises more awareness about HIV/AIDS. There was a time a few years back when talking about HIV/AIDS was taboo but now a lot of medical organizations are raising awareness for this disease. Incorporating disease awareness in a novel is a great way to get the word out there and to inform other people. Life doesn’t stop when you’re diagnosed with HIV/AIDS, this book illustrates a great example that you can still live a normal life (although having a vampire for a boyfriend isn’t one of those) and reach for your dreams despite your illness.

At first I was hesitant to read Beautiful Monster but now I can see that it’s a really great book. I may not be a biggest fan of vampire novels but I think I can change that. *wink* This book really wowed me and it would be a waste not to read the rest of the series.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “REVIEW: Beautiful Monster (Beautiful Monster #1) by Bella Forrest

  1. This sounds really interesting. I am not a fan of vampire books too and that cover is such a turn-off, but the story sounds quite unique. Thanks for the review.

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

