The Best is Yet to Come

ramblings keep me sane

When I started this blog my focus was on book reviews but now that it has grown, I want to share some stuff other than book reviews. Ramblings Keep Me sane is essentially about, well, ramblings. It could be book-related ramblings… or not. It’ll be like a discussion post where readers can share their opinion about anything under the sun.

2014

Happy New Year!

First of all I’d like to greet everyone a happy and prosperous new year. I have a strong feeling 2014 will be a great year. New year is always exciting because it means new start, new things to try and new experiences. But first, I want to look back on the past year and reminisce all the great memories I made last year.

2013 was really good for me. One of the highlights of last year (and possibly my whole life) was the Linkin Park concert in August. It’s always been my dream to see Linkin Park live for many many years and when they finally did perform in my country I was so ecstatic about it. I also got to meet some of my fellow LP Soldiers and they are all so awesome!

Last year I (finally) set up this book blog which was so awesome. I’ve been planning on making a book blog for years and it was only in the summer of 2013 that I was finally able to.
I also challenged myself to read 100 books and I am so happy and so proud of myself for completing it. For other people, reading 100 books a year can be very simple but for me it isn’t. I do read a lot but I couldn’t read as many as 100 books in a year. In 2011 I was able to read 73 books which was a pretty big number for me. But in 2012 I only managed 35 because I kind of lost my zeal for reading that year. So in 2013 I challenged myself to read 100. At first it was easy, I could read as many as 12 books in a month. And then I got busy with college and I didn’t have time for reading. But thankfully I was able to push through and finish what I started.

As for 2014, my aim is to read 75 books. I know I can still read 100 but I don’t want to put too much pressure on myself. And I’ll be in my 3rd year in college next school year so this means I’m gonna be busy with my thesis and everyone knows thesis can take up lots of one’s time and I want to focus more on academics this year. So, 75 books sounds just about right.

2013 and 2014 reading challenges
And fast forward to the present, I am so excited to start the New Year with a bang! I know most of you are already thinking of New Year’s resolutions, but not me. I believe that like promises, resolutions are meant to be broken. So instead I am going to make New Year’s goals. Because goals are meant to be achieved. I have two kinds of goals, personal and blog goals.
Personal Goals

  • Watch more anime
  • Write more fanfictions
  • Read more books
  • Continue running BKMS
  • Be more active on social media (facebook and twitter)
  • Continue writing on my journal (I started this last January 2013)
  • Be more fashionable (according to my aunt a lady should know how to dress and wear makeup)

I gave up on my goal of losing weight a long time ago because let’s face it, food is too glorious to resist. And I realized instead of hating my body because I am a tad bigger than most girls, I should love it because this is who I am. It wouldn’t hurt to have one less skinny girl either. And who says plus-size women can’t rock their bod?
All of my attempts to write a journal in the past have failed until I started again last year. I only write when I feel like it, sometimes I can write ten entries in a month, other times I only write one. I am a little inconsistent at it but I don’t really mind the frequency of the entries, as long as I write when I feel like it. Writing about my thoughts and emotions help me vent my feelings in a more constructive way. It is also an effective way of seeing how my writing style changes over time and even though my life is boring and I do the same stuff everyday, when I look back on my past journal entries I realize some things do change.

Blog Goals

  •  Revamp the blog
  •  Have an awesome bloggerversary celebration (may 2014)
  •  Post more reviews
  •  Visit and comment on lots of blogs
  •  Have a new blog feature (still thinking of a creative title for this one)
  •  Attend local book fairs (if there’s any LOL)
  •  Read 75 books this year

I love making graphics and designing stuff so I’m very excited about revamping the blog. And oh, it’ll be my birthday and also my blog’s first blog anniversary and it will be a double celebration. I’m starting to make plans for the Bloggerversary as early as now. Yup, I am that excited. 😉

On the last month of 2013 I wasn’t able to post a lot of reviews mainly because I was busy with the Holidays. But this year I’ll try to post more than two reviews a week. I have at least 10 book reviews that’s waiting for me to write. Sometimes I just feel SO lazy to write reviews. So sorry about that. LOL

I’m also gonna have a new feature for the blog, I’ll announce it before January ends.

2013 was an awesome year for me and I can feel 2014 will be a great one too! But of course, I want to hear from you, how was your 2013 and what are you really looking forward to this 2014? Share your thoughts below, I’d really love to hear them! 🙂

Edit: When I updated my Goodreads it turned out I read not 1000 but 101 books in 2013. Tee-hee!

15 thoughts on “The Best is Yet to Come

  1. I hope you have a great year ahead Farzy! 😀

    The book fairs in this country aren’t that great. 😛 I’ve been to the Manila International Book Fair twice in a year, and usually they run out of the good books fast. And it’s only 20% discounts which isn’t much. I do love the NBS Warehouse Sales though. Those are cheap and good books. There will be a couple of author signings this year too. I’m just not sure if I’d go to them. Haha! Will you go to the Gayle Forman signing on the 18th? 😀

    • I’ve only been to 2 Manila International Book Fairs and 2 NBS Warehouse Sales. I haven’t been to signings or anything much really. Haha. My last trip to the Warehouse Sale was awesome. I would go to the one next week, but I’m so broke. 😛 Also, it’s quite difficult to get there.

      Will you go to the Mafi, Riggs, and Rossi signing? I’m so excited for that one and I definitely don’t want to pass it up!

    • It’s pretty far from me too so I’m not going. Lol. And I think my relatives are coming home then so I might have to go see them. I will, however, go to the Mafi+Riggs+Rossi signing no matter what. I’m so excited for that one!

  2. I am excited about your blog revamp plans. Your current blog itself is so pretty, would love to see how you amp it up.

    Also, I didn’t know you wrote fan-fictions. I love to read them. Which books do you fan-fic about?

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

