Hot Mess: Summer in the City by Julie Kraut and Shallon Lester

Hot Mess: Summer in the CityTitle: Hot Mess: Summer in the City

Author: Julie Kraut and Shallon Lester

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: May 13th 2008

Source: bought

Format: ebook

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Paperback)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

EMMA FREEMAN IS waving buh-bye to her standard summer of stationwagoning around the suburbs. This summer she’s heading to the big city. Emma’s totally prepped for days at a fabulous internship and nights of socialite-ing around town. But when you’re 17 and not an heiress, reality is far from pink fizzy drinks and red velvet ropes. As the summer heats up, Emma learns that glamour is hard to come by when your only friend is too boy-crazy to hang, your budget is more H&M than D&G, and you spend 8 hours a day working for a man who proves that the devil wears Dockers too. Add one little white lie told to one very hot coworker and a roommate who makes Paris Hilton look junior varsity, and this summer in the city is starting to turn into one hot mess.

mythoughts

I was really wary of reading Hot Mess: Summer in the City because of its low average rating on Goodreads. Before I started reading it I read reviews about this book. Some like the book, others not so much. But I was really curious about the book so I decided to read it anyway.

I didn’t expect much from the book, give the mixed reviews about it but after reading it, I can say that I really enjoyed it.

After breaking up with her jerk boyfriend, Emma Freeman decided to grab an internship opportunity in New York for the summer. She didn’t have any idea what the internship was all about, she just wanted to get away from her hometown for awhile and heal her broken heart. In New York she met this adorable guy, Colin. She finds herself falling in love with this guy but he doesn’t know who she really is. Will this lie tear them apart or will they keep fighting for love?

This book is perfect for anyone of you who’s looking for a fun and quick read. I love the characters–whose personalities are very fun. I really don’t understand how some people can say that the book is boring because it didn’t bore me at all. I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough! Well, maybe we have different taste in books, eh?

One of the reasons why I really love this book is that I can relate to it. And who doesn’t want to read about a cute summer fling, right? Summer seems to be the perfect season to let a budding romance grow, don’t you think?

When I was reading this, I wished I could also share the experiences of Rachel, Emma and Jayla. If I could have summer BFFs, they would be the perfect choice!

The book describes New York as this place where fun and wild and cool things happen like riding limos downtown, sipping chilled champagne or living in expensive apartments. I am no stranger to New York being described as the city that never sleeps and all that jazz. But it was only in this book that I wished I can go to New York and experience all the cool things too.

Overall, it was a delight to read and if you are looking for a funny and light summer-themed book, I definitely recommend this one.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

