REVIEW: Truly, Madly, Deadly by Hannah Jayne

truly madly deadly books keep me saneTitle: Truly, Madly, Deadly

Author: Hannah Jayne

Genre: YA Mystery

Release Date: July 2nd 2013

Purchase: Amazon (Paperback or Kindle)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

They Said It Was An Accident…

Sawyer Dodd is a star athlete, a straight-A student, and the envy of every other girl who wants to date Kevin Anderson. When Kevin dies in a tragic car crash, Sawyer is stunned. Then she opens her locker to find a note:

You’re welcome.

Someone saw what he did to her. Someone knows that Sawyer and Kevin weren’t the perfect couple they seemed to be. And that someone—a killer—is now shadowing Sawyer’s every move…

mythoughts

When I read the blurb of Truly, Madly, Deadly my curiosity was piqued. It reminds me Pretty Little Liars. Sensing that I will love the book, I immediately picked it up. Truly, Madly, Deadly was a good book. It didn’t quite meet my expectation but it was good nonetheless.

Sawyer Dodd is in an abusive relationship and she feels trapped. Her boyfriend would hurt her but when she threatens to leave him, Kevin would beg for her forgiveness and she would forgive him. And the vicious cycle goes on. She couldn’t find a way out of the relationship until a drunk-driving accident killed Kevin– or so everyone thought until she found a note in her locker that said, “You’re welcome”.

I am always fascinated by stories where there is a stalker shadowing your every move. I am always psyched to read those kinds of stories because it’s fun to guess who the real culprit is. Truly, Madly, Deadly did achieve the suspense and thrill that I was expecting in this book. The story was fast-paced and it was such a real page-turner.

There’s a couple of hiccups though. One of those is the culprit itself. I think the author gave too much clue on who Sawyer’s stalker was. I already knew who the suspect is right from the start, I was just waiting for confirmation if my guess was correct. And let’s be honest, the person whom the main character suspects is almost always not the real culprit, right?

Another thing I didn’t like was that Sawyer was such a crybaby. I know what she was going through was hard but it’s really annoying to read about the main protagonist who tears up at the slightest provocation. Seriously.

Truly, Madly, Deadly is a lovely book even though it has little bumps here and there. It is a novel that will surely have your attention and will keep you turning the pages. It may not be the most brilliant mystery novel out there but it sure is something. This book is perfect for anyone who’s looking for a lot of suspense and thrill in their reads.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: Truly, Madly, Deadly by Hannah Jayne

  1. Howdy! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any recommendations? gefbddeackac

  2. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I will definitely be back. kkbebgceedke

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them