REVIEW: The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1) by Lindsay Cummings

the murder complex books keep me saneTitle: The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1)

Author: Lindsay Cummings

Genre: YA Dystopia

Release Date: June 10th 2014

Purchase: Amazon (KindlePaperback)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower ratingflower rating

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?
Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

my thoughts graphic

I have wanted to read The Murder Complex ever since I laid eyes on the cover. The title also left a very strong impression in me. Murders! Who doesn’t want to read about them?

Continue reading

REVIEW: Obsession in Death (In Death #40) by J.D. Robb

obsession in death books keep me saneTitle: Obsession in Death (In Death #40)

Author: J.D. Robb

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release Date: February 10th 2015

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle, Hardcover)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower ratingflower rating

Eve Dallas has solved a lot of high-profile murders for the NYPSD and gotten a lot of media. She – with her billionaire husband – is getting accustomed to being an object of attention, of gossip, of speculation.

But now Eve has become the object of one person’s obsession. Someone who finds her extraordinary, and thinks about her every hour of every day. Who believes the two of them have a special relationship. Who would kill for her again and again. An aggressive defense attorney who’s sparred with Eve in the courtroom is the first victim, but she isn’t the last. The messages left for Eve at the crime scenes chill her and turn her stomach. It doesn’t get much more personal than this – and Eve refuses to hand the investigation over to anyone else. With a murderer reading meaning into her every move, handling this case will be a delicate – and dangerous – psychological dance.

And eve knows that underneath the worship and admiration, a terrible threat lies in wait. Because the beautiful lieutenant is not at all grateful for these bloody offerings from her “true and loyal friend.” And in time, idols always fall….

my thoughts graphic

I didn’t know what I was thinking when I picked up this book. I knew it was the 40th book in the series, but the thought of reading the very first book in the series seemed really daunting to me. So I went right on to picking up the 40th book, which is Obsession in Death.

Continue reading

REVIEW: The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1) by James Dashner

the maze runner books keep me saneTitle: The Maze Runner (The Maze Runner #1)

Author: James Dashner

Genre: YA Dystopia

Release Date: October 6th 2009

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle, Paperback)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower ratingflower rating

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.

my thoughts graphic

For a long time I’ve struggled to sort my feelings towards this book. While it’s not really bad, it didn’t blow me away either.

Continue reading

REVIEW: Toxic (Pretty Little Liars #15) by Sara Shepard

toxic pretty little liars books keep me saneTitle: Toxic (Pretty Little Liars #15)

Author: Sara Shepard

Genre: YA Historical Mystery

Release Date: June 3rd 2014

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle, Hardcover)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower ratingflower rating

One A has been captured…but the most dangerous A of all is still out there in the penultimate installment in Sara Shepard’s #1 New York Times bestselling Pretty Little Liars series.

High school seniors Aria, Emily, Spencer, and Hanna barely survived their most recent encounter with A. And it’s not over yet…. The police don’t believe there’s another, deadlier, A out there, but the girls know what-and who-they saw. If they don’t track down this final tormentor soon, A will silence them forever.

Sara Shepard’s fan base continues to grow as ABC Family’s hit Pretty Little Liars TV show draws in new readers to the #1 New York Times bestselling series. Full of unexpected twists and shocking revelations, the second-to-last novel ramps up the stakes for the jaw-dropping series conclusion in Pretty Little Liars #16.

my thoughts graphic

Before I review Toxic, I would like to comment first on the 17 other books that preceded it. I love the Pretty Little Liars series and I’ve read every book in the series, I’m talking about all 18 of them! This has gone for so long and honestly, it’s getting repetitive. You could say that I could stop reading the series if I was really bored with it but the thing is that I’m too emotionally invested in the series. I’m in too deep. Don’t get me wrong, I love this series, truly, I do but at the same time I want closure too. This can’t go on forever. I’m tired of the wild goose chase.

Continue reading