REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY: Sugar and Spice by Kimberly Kincaid

The Sugar Cookie Sweetheart SwapTitle: Sugar Cookie Sweetheart Swap

Author: Kimberly Kincaid, Donna Kauffman, Kate Angell

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: September 24, 2013

Purchase: Amazon // Barnes and Noble 

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

When caterer Lily Callahan goes up against hotshot pastry chef Pete Mancuso in the bake-off of the season, the stakes are high–and scandalously passionate. Will the gorgeous gourmand steal Lily’s heart–and the top prize in the Christmas cookie competition?

 

mythoughts

I really love reading holiday-themed books because they make me very excited for the holidays. Sugar and Spice, a novella that is part of the book The Sugar Cookie Sweetheart Swap, is one of those books you do not mind reading over and over during the holidays because it has a very holiday-ish vibe. I guess it is the snowy mountain or the delicious food vividly described in the book or maybe the steamy romance but nevertheless it was such a great read.

Honesty really is the best policy, so yeah. I love you and I don’t want you to lose your chance at having your own bakery.

Pete and Lily are competing in a cooking contest for two different reasons. Pete wants publicity to boost his career and Lily needs the money to have her own bakeshop. As the contest progresses, they also realize that winning may not be all that matters. And soon they are falling for each other, despite how opposite their personalities are.

Pete may be cocky and a little bit of a jerk but he is a great pastry chef.

“Are there any rules you find sacred, or are you equal opportunity about breaking them all?”

He also has a good heart despite his arrogance. Plus, I love guys who can cook. I mean, who doesn’t, right?

Lily is a great woman.

It’s not where you are that makes you successful, it’s what you are.

She is very lovable and she can be really OC sometimes, which I can totally relate to. I also love her passion and her attitude towards achieving her goals.

Regrets are a waste of time. It makes more sense to change things if you don’t like them rather than worry about what’s done.

And the food described in the book, they sound so delicious and my mouth waters at the mention of them. I just wish that the story were longer so that I can enjoy it for a longer period of time. But overall, it was such a delight to read and if you are like me who loves reading holiday-themed books, then this is a book you would not want to miss.

I’ve only recently realized that sometimes it is as important to follow your heart as it is to follow your plans.

baa71-pinkbirdAuthor Info

Kim

Kimberly Kincaid writes contemporary romance that splits the difference between sexy and sweet. When she’s not sitting cross-legged in an ancient desk chair known as “The Pleather Bomber”, she can be found practicing obscene amounts of yoga, whipping up anything from enchiladas to éclairs in her kitchen, or curled up with her nose in a book. Kimberly is a 2011 RWA Golden Heart® finalist who lives (and writes!) by the mantra that food is love. She has written two digital novellas, Love On The Line and Drawing The Line, about hot cops and sexy chefs, with a third novella, Outside The Lines, due this summer. She is also thrilled to have collaborated on a Christmas anthology with Donna Kauffman and Kate Angell, titled The Sugar Cookie Sweetheart Swap, to kick off her Pine Mountain foodie series with Kensington this October. Kimberly’s first full-length novel, Turn Up the Heat, will follow in February 2014. She resides in northern Virginia with her wildly patient husband and their three daughters.

Visit her any time at www.kimberlykincaid.com or come check her out on Facebook (www.facebook.com/kimberly.kincaid1) and Twitter (@kimberlykincaid).

baa71-pinkbird

GIVEAWAY

  • This is a tour-wide giveaway
  • Click the link below for the Rafflecopter

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tour Banner

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

9 thoughts on “REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY: Sugar and Spice by Kimberly Kincaid

  1. Pingback: #ReadingCram End of the Year Read-a-thon 2013: Seasonal Challenge + Day 6 Update | Books Keep Me Sane

  2. Seriously, anything with baking and you’ve got me interested. Actually, at first I wasn’t grabbed by the title, but the synopsis sounds like a lot of fun. Now I want to go watch Cake Boss. (Even though I don’t eat cake! I just love to see what the foods look like that bakeries sell!) I hope I win this giveaway!

    • I love Cake Boss omg! It’s in my bucket list to meet Buddy and eat cakes from his bakeshop! I’ve never tried baking, I’m no good in the kitchen but the book was really interesting and all the food described in the book sounds so delicious! 🙂

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

