BLOG TOUR: American Girl on Saturn by Nikki Godwin

American Girl On SaturnTitle: American Girl on Saturn

Author: Nikki Godwin

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: August 29, 2013

Source: GHBT tour

Format: ebook

Purchase: Amazon (Paperback)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

The summer after graduation is supposed to be that first real taste of freedom – but not for eighteen-year-old Chloe Branson. Just as that breeze of freedom is making its way into her galaxy, her secret-service-agent dad drops a meteor-sized bomb of bad news on her and her sisters. An attempt has been made on the lives of Canadian boyband, Spaceships Around Saturn, during their USA tour, and the guys have to go into hiding ASAP. The only problem? In the midst of the crisis and media frenzy, their dad volunteered to hide the guys…in their house.

Six-year-old Emery is as ecstatic as any self-proclaimed Saturnite would be, but Chloe and her seventeen-year-old sister Aralie watch their summer plans crash and burn like a falling star. The SAS guys aren’t happy with the situation, either. Bad boy Jules picks fights with Aralie about everything from his Twitter followers to his laundry, and heart-throb Benji can’t escape Emery’s fangirlisms for more than three minutes.

But after the super-cute Milo kisses Chloe during a game of hide-and-seek, she finally understands what Emery means when she talks about SAS being “out of this world.” If this is what Saturn feels like, Chloe doesn’t want to come back to Earth.

mythoughts

This book was such a delight to read! Definitely 5 stars!

What would happen if your secret agent dad volunteers to hide an insanely popular boy band in your house because someone threatened their lives during their concert? And what if your little sister is a huge fan of that said boy band? And what if it means a summer on lockdown? Well, chaos would surely ensue.

The story is told in Chloe’s point of view and I like it because she’s funny and witty. If I had to pick a fictional sister, I’d pick her because I think we’ll get along very well. There are lots of characters I love in this book but the closest to my heart is Emery simply because I see myself most in her. Emery’s forte is fangirling, and so is mine! Fangirling is not just a hobby or some phase in life you go through. No. Fangirling is a passion. Entering a fandom is like entering the Mafia, once you get in, you can’t get out alive. And I totally get Emery and her “taxidermy hyena eyes”—according to Chloe—whenever Spaceship Around Saturn is around. Just last month I went to see my favorite band in a concert and I’m pretty sure I also had the “taxidermy hyena eyes” during that said concert.

I don’t tell him that I know these things or then he’ll know that I spent too many hours Googling him and memorizing every detail of his existence.

Another character that I really love is Aralie. She’s such a bad-ass! I love how she always picks fight with Jules. But you know what they say, opposites attract. And she calls Benjie, Benjie Bikini which I think is hilarious!

Milo is also a great character. I’m not into nice guys, I’m more into the bad-boy type, but I can’t deny Milo is such a romantic guy. I think he and Chloe are really meant to be together and well, Chloe’s so lucky to have guy like Milo—romantic, cute and insanely famous.

Right now, Milo is my butterfly – wanting to bleed his ink to give the world some color. Yet he’s trapped under glass, being observed and maintained like a research specimen. All the while, I sit here telling him how beautiful his colors are and how the world needs to see them, but behind closed doors, I’m aiding and abetting the mad scientists who want him in a jar.

His middle name is David. His favorite movie is Point Break, and he wishes he lived near a beach. He could survive on milk and Oreos and be happy.

I was kind of sad when I finished the book. It was so good I didn’t want to put it down. And it’s one of those books I can really relate to (the fangirling part). I recommend this book to those of you who wants to have a fun, light read. It’s perfect for, say, a summer night at home or at the beach. If you just want to have a good laugh and a great, satisfying read, I suggest you grab a copy of the book, like, right now.

Now excuse me as I google-stalk my favorite band.

 

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “BLOG TOUR: American Girl on Saturn by Nikki Godwin

  1. Pingback: #ReadingCram End of the Year Read-a-thon 2013: Seasonal Challenge + Day 6 Update | Books Keep Me Sane

  2. I don’t normally go for books like this, but it sounded like a good, light summer read, and I’m always into those. Sometimes it’s fun to step back into girl-land now that I hate adulthood 🙂

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

