Winter Fire by Laurie Dubay

Winter FireTitle: Winter Fire

Author: Laurie Dubay

Genre: YA Fantasy

Release Date: May 19 2013

Source: The Author

Format: ebook (finished copy)*

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

“I should have seen Bren for what he was right away.” A brooding, powerful god, hiding out with his rebel friends in the snowy mountains of Pennsylvania.

“Loki stood before the flames in a black leather jacket and tattered jeans…the son of the grim reaper.” A captivating master of danger who threatens their secret.

When Jenna becomes the center of a clash between Asgard’s most powerful expatriates, she will have to choose between what she wants most in the world, and the world itself.

After her parent’s divorce, Jenna and her mother find shelter in the frozen world of Yew Dales Resort, where Jenna meets Bren Bergan, a mysterious snowboarder who, while proving elusive, seems to show up at all the wrong times. Intrigued, and anxious to escape the gloom of her own life, Jenna begins to notice the strangeness that surrounds Bren. Hills rise and fall beneath his board, trees sway aside as he passes, and time itself seems to shrink and stretch at his silent command. As she searches for answers, Jenna learns that Bren is an expatriate Norse god who has escaped his home in Asgard in order to break a cycle of destruction that threatens both of their worlds. When Loki, hypnotic master of discord, arrives from Asgard seeking to bring Bren home, he discovers Jenna as well, and she becomes the center of a struggle which will determine all of their fates.

mythoughts

I have read books based on different mythologies before, Egyptian, Greek, Roman but I haven’t read a book based on the Norse Mythology so I was very excited to read it.

My favorite character is Bren and Jenna, obviously. There is this unmistakable chemistry between them that is too strong to ignore. I couldn’t help mentally saying, “Aww, that’s so sweet!”.

“I’d trade every single day I’ve lived for just one day with you.”

“Every day you’ve lived on the earth?”  I asked, baiting him.

“Every day.”  He said.  “Ever.”

But the one thing I find very weird is the fact that Bren is so much older than Jenna. Don’t you think it would be weird if your boyfriend were older than your great grandfather?

“From what you told me, you’re older than dirt anyway.”

He smiled and relaxed a little.  “I said I was older than time, not dirt.”

But who cares? Bren is hot hot hot despite being the god of snow, and he’s also one of the most powerful gods in Asgard. What’s not to love?

“Ullur was an ancient and very powerful god who had existed in time before the first cycle of Ragnarok.  His vision wasn’t bound by the events of the cycle.”

Loki was supposed to be the villain of the story. But instead I couldn’t really hate him. Even from the start I couldn’t hate him. In other stories Loki is always the bad guy but in this story he isn’t entirely the villain, especially if you find out about what he did in the end.

“There is no truth.”  He said.  “Only perspective.”

The character I hate the most is Brianna. I had a hunch from the start that she’s going to be bitchy towards Jenna. And turns out, I was right.

I felt Brianna’s glare all through Math, and in every class afterward.  I didn’t try to talk to her between periods, figuring it was better to let her tell me what her problem was than to assume anything and give her new information.

The story focuses more on the romance than the adventure stuff but I really liked it. I like how the story didn’t end in a cliffhanger. And when I found out that there will be a sequel to the story, I was really delighted. The story is so beautiful that just one book wouldn’t do it justice.

If you’re a fan of Riordan’s books then you are likely to love this book too! I couldn’t recommend this highly enough.

siggie

 

*I received this book free of charge from the author in exchange for an honest review.

3 thoughts on “Winter Fire by Laurie Dubay

  1. Pingback: #ReadingCram End of the Year Read-a-thon 2013: Seasonal Challenge + Day 6 Update | Books Keep Me Sane

  2. This sounds fun – I like the comparison you drew to Rick Riordan’s books. I haven’t read much YA that uses Norse Mythology and like you did, I find it an appealing prospect! Cool review, glad you enjoyed this one enough to be happy about a sequel, that says a lot.

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

