REVIEW: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Title: The Fault in Our Stars

Author: John Green

Genre: Young Adult

Purchase: Amazon

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 13, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs… for now.

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumors tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind.

mythoughts

The Fault in Our Stars has been creating a buzz even before it was officially released. I normally don’t go with the hype but I’ve heard nothing but great reviews of this book and I thought why not read it for myself and see why everybody is loving the book.

Basically The Fault in Our Stars is a about a bunch of kids with different types of cancer. But knowing John Green, he can come up with all this beautifully written books with very lovable characters.

Hazel Grace Lancaster has been diagnosed with cancer and just when her condition turned for the worst, a miracle happened and she lived. However, it meant tottering a small cart of oxygen tank wherever she goes. And then enters Augustus Waters, a dashing lad who’s been diagnosed with osteosarcoma who falls madly in love with Hazel. Hazel was hesitant of reciprocating Augustus’ love at first, afraid of being too emotionally invested in people and hurting them when she finally bites it. But Augustus is just so good at wooing the lady that it was only a matter of time when he captured her heart.

While everyone was swooning at Augustus, I didn’t. It’s not like he is not lovable. It’s just that I see him more as book best friend rather than a book boyfriend. Probably because he isn’t my “type” of book boyfriend. Ah, but that’s just me. Augustus is very likable though, and sweet and romantic. He’s got a way with words that makes women swoon but alas, not me.

The whole situation of the characters is sad and depressing but there is a bittersweet beauty to it by how Green wrote it.

Were she better or you sicker, then the stars would not be so terribly crossed, but it is the nature of stars to cross, and never was Shakespeare more wrong than when he had Cassius note, “The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars / But in ourselves.”

The characters are very interesting and their dialogues are intelligent and full of meaning. It’s interesting to know their insights about small things that people don’t normally think of, ghettoized eggs, death and the universe wanting to be noticed.

For some reason it didn’t strike me as a “WOW” book right away. You know that kind of book where you’ve only read the first few chapters and you know you’re going to love it right away. Instead, it kind of grew on me as I read the book, I didn’t realize how much I loved the book until I finished reading it.

The ending, unfortunately, was a bit of a let down for me. It just ended without clarifying some of the questions still in my head.

But overall it was a delight to read, and if you’re a sucker for a bittersweet love story like me, then I highly recommend this book.

siggie

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

