REVIEW: The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1) by Lindsay Cummings

the murder complex books keep me saneTitle: The Murder Complex (The Murder Complex #1)

Author: Lindsay Cummings

Genre: YA Dystopia

Release Date: June 10th 2014

Purchase: Amazon (KindlePaperback)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower ratingflower rating

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?
Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

my thoughts graphic

I have wanted to read The Murder Complex ever since I laid eyes on the cover. The title also left a very strong impression in me. Murders! Who doesn’t want to read about them?

Continue reading

REVIEW: It Had to Be You (Gossip Girl 0.5) by Cecily von Ziegesar

it had to be you books keep me saneTitle: It Had to Be You (Gossip Girl 0.5)

Author: Cecily von Ziegesar

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: January 1st 2007

Purchase: Amazon (KindlePaperback)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower rating

Welcome to New York City’s Upper East Side, where my friends and I live in luxe Fifth Avenue apartments and attend Manhattan’s most exclusive private schools. We’re smart, we’ve inherited classic good looks, we wear fantastic clothes, and we know how to party. We can’t help it-we were born this way.
Our story begins with three inseparable, completely gorgeous fifteen-year-olds, Serena van der Woodsen, Blair Waldorf, and Nate Archibald. Blair’s loved Nate and his glittering green eyes since she was in Bonpoint onesies. Too bad Nate wishes Blair’s beautiful
best friend, Serena, was the one with the crush. And Serena has a secret she’s keeping from them both. Hmmm, something tells me these best friends may not be as close as we thought. . . .
How do I know all this? Because I know everything-and lucky for you, I can’t keep a secret. So sit back while I untangle this messy little tale and tell you how it all began.
Admit it, you’re already falling for me.
You know you love me.
gossip girl

my thoughts graphic

I was going to write a full review post of this book but decided against it. I have a feeling that this is going to be more of a rant and less of a review, so I’m going to save you guys the trouble and keep it short. Before I start my review, I have a confession to make— this is my third Gossip Girl book (I didn’t read the Gossip Girl series in a chronological order) and I didn’t like the first two. But I really WANT to like the series, so I tried for the third time. And I really thought the third time was the charm.

Continue reading

REVIEW: Mildred’s Resistance (The Network Series #0.5) by Katie Cross

mildred's resistance books keep me saneTitle: Mildred’s Resistance (The Network Series #0.5)

Author: Katie Cross

Genre: YA Fantasy

Release Date: July 15th 2015

Purchase: Amazon (KindlePaperback)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower ratingflower ratingflower ratingflower rating

Absolute Power Corrupts Even the Best of Friends.
Mildred Graeme is a witch that knows what it’s like to fail. She loathes small talk, struggles with magic, and grew up wretchedly poor. What’s easy for her best friend Evelyn, a wealthy, powerful socialite, is difficult for Mildred.

The two lifelong friends reunite at Chatham Castle where they fight together for the dream of a better world. Mildred wants to save the Network from political elitism, while Evelyn encourages it. When Evelyn gains power and threatens to obliterate the Network, Mildred realizes that she must overcome her fear of failure to save the lives of those she loves, even if it means betraying her best friend.

Mildred’s Resistance is the prequel to The Network Series and a gripping tale of intrigue, betrayal, and unexpected romance that defies all odds to rise above the ghosts of failure.

my thoughts graphic

The Network Series never cease to amaze me. The series gets better and better with each book. For a long time I’ve wondered what happened during the Dark Ages of the Central Network when Evelyn became the High Priestess. Not much was revealed in the first two books in the series and I was really intrigued. I’m glad that Cross wrote a prequel and explained all about the history of the Central Network.

Continue reading

REVIEW: With a Twist (Bad Habits #1) by Staci Hart

with a twist books keep me saneTitle: With a Twist (Bad Habits #1)

Author: Staci Hart

Genre: NA Romance

Release Date: July 16th 2015

Purchase: Amazon (KindlePaperback)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower ratingflower ratingflower ratingflower rating

Love is somewhere near the bottom of Lily Thomas’ list of life goals, right next to competitive eating and underwater cave diving. She’s spent six years pirouetting and pliéing her way up the ranks of the New York Ballet with her eye on the prize and love in the back seat. But now that Blane Baker — Lily’s long time crush — is finally single, she’ll throw her rules out the window without thinking twice.

Reality with Blane isn’t as epic as the fantasy she imagined, and the truth sends her spinning straight into the arms of the man she never knew she’d always wanted.

West Williams has been friends with Lily since the day she moved into their building and he saved her armoire from a swift, sudden death by staircase. Their friendship has always been easy, the boundaries clearly defined. With neither of them willing to risk their relationship, they’ve drifted happily through the years as companions, never considering more.

That is, until they do. And that realization changes everything.

my thoughts graphic

I kid you not when  I say I’ve read all of Staci Hart’s books. It’s no secret that I am a big fan of hers. So when she announced that she’s going to release a new novel, I was over the moon!

Continue reading

REVIEW: Obsession in Death (In Death #40) by J.D. Robb

obsession in death books keep me saneTitle: Obsession in Death (In Death #40)

Author: J.D. Robb

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release Date: February 10th 2015

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle, Hardcover)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower ratingflower rating

Eve Dallas has solved a lot of high-profile murders for the NYPSD and gotten a lot of media. She – with her billionaire husband – is getting accustomed to being an object of attention, of gossip, of speculation.

But now Eve has become the object of one person’s obsession. Someone who finds her extraordinary, and thinks about her every hour of every day. Who believes the two of them have a special relationship. Who would kill for her again and again. An aggressive defense attorney who’s sparred with Eve in the courtroom is the first victim, but she isn’t the last. The messages left for Eve at the crime scenes chill her and turn her stomach. It doesn’t get much more personal than this – and Eve refuses to hand the investigation over to anyone else. With a murderer reading meaning into her every move, handling this case will be a delicate – and dangerous – psychological dance.

And eve knows that underneath the worship and admiration, a terrible threat lies in wait. Because the beautiful lieutenant is not at all grateful for these bloody offerings from her “true and loyal friend.” And in time, idols always fall….

my thoughts graphic

I didn’t know what I was thinking when I picked up this book. I knew it was the 40th book in the series, but the thought of reading the very first book in the series seemed really daunting to me. So I went right on to picking up the 40th book, which is Obsession in Death.

Continue reading