REVIEW: It Had to Be You (Gossip Girl 0.5) by Cecily von Ziegesar

it had to be you books keep me saneTitle: It Had to Be You (Gossip Girl 0.5)

Author: Cecily von Ziegesar

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: January 1st 2007

Purchase: Amazon (KindlePaperback)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower rating

Welcome to New York City’s Upper East Side, where my friends and I live in luxe Fifth Avenue apartments and attend Manhattan’s most exclusive private schools. We’re smart, we’ve inherited classic good looks, we wear fantastic clothes, and we know how to party. We can’t help it-we were born this way.
Our story begins with three inseparable, completely gorgeous fifteen-year-olds, Serena van der Woodsen, Blair Waldorf, and Nate Archibald. Blair’s loved Nate and his glittering green eyes since she was in Bonpoint onesies. Too bad Nate wishes Blair’s beautiful
best friend, Serena, was the one with the crush. And Serena has a secret she’s keeping from them both. Hmmm, something tells me these best friends may not be as close as we thought. . . .
How do I know all this? Because I know everything-and lucky for you, I can’t keep a secret. So sit back while I untangle this messy little tale and tell you how it all began.
Admit it, you’re already falling for me.
You know you love me.
gossip girl

my thoughts graphic

I was going to write a full review post of this book but decided against it. I have a feeling that this is going to be more of a rant and less of a review, so I’m going to save you guys the trouble and keep it short. Before I start my review, I have a confession to make— this is my third Gossip Girl book (I didn’t read the Gossip Girl series in a chronological order) and I didn’t like the first two. But I really WANT to like the series, so I tried for the third time. And I really thought the third time was the charm.

But it wasn’t.

The book had the same issues that I didn’t like on the first two books that I read. The characters were so irrational and I can’t nail their personalities. One second I thought I had them figured out but then they do something they’re not likely to do. What’s up with Jen and Dan’s stalker-ish obsession with Serena? Why is Chuck so sex-crazed? Nate’s torn between Blair and Serena so he goes on kissing a different girl instead.

“Girls were like that, though- they had to know things. They had to plan.”

Why is Blair so delusional and ungrateful to her parents?

“In the movie that was her life, he’d just asked her to marry him, and the answer was yes, oh, yes. Definitely-yes!
Cue straitjacket.”

I can’t even begin to describe how messed up this book is. I honestly don’t understand why it has legions of fans.

On the flip side, I liked reading about the lives of these rich, entitled people. It was an interesting sneak peek to how they live, where they hang out and who they make out with. But it wasn’t enough to save the book.

“Who has time to make up stories when the truth is so much more interesting?”

It Had to be You is supposed to be the prequel, the whole book should be the prequel. But I think that 95% of the book was unnecessary fillers and only the last 5% of the book really told us how the whole series started.

I tried to like Gossip Girl, not just once but thrice! Sadly, this isn’t just for me. I’m so frustrated and sad because everyone seems to like it.

Follow on Bloglovin

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

