Bout of Books Read-a-thon #14: Let’s Do This!

Bout of Books
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 17th and runs through Sunday, August 23rd in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 14 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team
I’m so excited to announce this: I’m joining Bout of Books this month!!
dancing gif
It’s going to be the perfect excuse to reward myself with more reading time. And I’ve heard a lot of great things about Bout of Books and its 14th edition further shows how popular it is in the blogosphere. But despite that, I haven’t joined in, until now.

Goals, goals, goals

Having a goal for Bot of Books is not required. You can just randomly pick any book on your TBr and read it. But for me, a goal is essential to keep myself motivated. As much as I want to go crazy and set a 7-book goal in a 7-day marathon, I can’t. Once upon a time I can inhale a book a day, but those days are over. Sadly, I don’t have as much time as I did back then. So for this read-a-thon I’m going to read two books.

Untitled-4

the murder complex books keep me sane

 

First up is The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi. I heard about this book through the NaNoWriMo blog and the title got me really intrigued. I know even before I read the blurb that this is the kind of novel that I would want to read. It was one of my most-anticipated books this year and I can finally get to reading it!

The next one is The Murder Complex by Linsay Cummings. I heard so many great things about it. I love me some murder. Oh wait, that came out wrong. I love me some great murder mysteries. It baffles me that I’m such a squeamish person, but I love reading murder mysteries.

I’m only aiming to read two books during Bout of Books week but if I get extra time during the read-a-ton, I’ll definitely use to read more! Oh and I will also be posting updates and participating in the activities on the blog and on Twitter.

Are you going to join Bout of Books too? What books are you excited to read this month?

cat reading gif

4 thoughts on “Bout of Books Read-a-thon #14: Let’s Do This!

  1. I sooo want to read The Murder Complex too because I LOVE ME SOME MURDERS. erm. *coughs* Yes. Like you said. Murder mysteries. I am completely normal and sane. *nods emphatically* I’ve never done a readathon, but I basically inhale a book a day, so I probably don’t need to. >_< My TBR is pretty under control at the moment too, which is nice for once. 😀

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

