REVIEW: Obsession in Death (In Death #40) by J.D. Robb

obsession in death books keep me saneTitle: Obsession in Death (In Death #40)

Author: J.D. Robb

Genre: Romantic Suspense

Release Date: February 10th 2015

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle, Hardcover)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower ratingflower rating

Eve Dallas has solved a lot of high-profile murders for the NYPSD and gotten a lot of media. She – with her billionaire husband – is getting accustomed to being an object of attention, of gossip, of speculation.

But now Eve has become the object of one person’s obsession. Someone who finds her extraordinary, and thinks about her every hour of every day. Who believes the two of them have a special relationship. Who would kill for her again and again. An aggressive defense attorney who’s sparred with Eve in the courtroom is the first victim, but she isn’t the last. The messages left for Eve at the crime scenes chill her and turn her stomach. It doesn’t get much more personal than this – and Eve refuses to hand the investigation over to anyone else. With a murderer reading meaning into her every move, handling this case will be a delicate – and dangerous – psychological dance.

And eve knows that underneath the worship and admiration, a terrible threat lies in wait. Because the beautiful lieutenant is not at all grateful for these bloody offerings from her “true and loyal friend.” And in time, idols always fall….

my thoughts graphic

I didn’t know what I was thinking when I picked up this book. I knew it was the 40th book in the series, but the thought of reading the very first book in the series seemed really daunting to me. So I went right on to picking up the 40th book, which is Obsession in Death.

And because I was crazy enough to pick up the 40th book in a series, I didn’t know much about the world of the characters. But that’s okay, it was totally my fault. There were some back stories that I didn’t know about and I was clueless most of the time. Even if that was the case, I could see that the characters have grown because there were some back stories where the characters had changed so much. Writing a long-running series has its challenges, you don’t want your characters to be stagnant yet they have to be consistent. And yet Robb struck a balance between the two.
Another thing I didn’t know until I was in too deep in the book was that it was a sci-fi book! What the heck? Apparently, there were prisons in the moon. And then there’s this gadget called auto-chef where you just tap some buttons and you can get your cravings in an instant. Want some donuts? Just push a button. I wish such machine exists in this lifetime because the autochef would then be my best friend for life. The sci-fi aspect of the book was not really a big deal though. The auto-chef, the moon prison, and all the other sci-fi stuff was only mentioned in passing.
I found out about the In Death series when I googled “crime romance books” but I was disappointed that there was too little romance in the book. Sure Roarke is a crushable guy and all, but as a romance reader, I found the romantic elements too sparse. The book was more about the crime than the romance.
And since we’re on the topic of crime, let’s evaluate the crime elements of the book! Firstly, there were a lot of theatrics in the murders and I loved it! That might make me seem like a psycho but don’t you just love a great murder mystery?
I wish there were more chapters about the killer because I really love getting into their head. Even though I really loved reading about the killer, I found the whole murder plot to be too predictable. I love a murder case where I’m constantly blown away by the twists and turns, but with Obsession in Death I could see how it would end even if I was still halfway through the book. For me, the lack of brain-shattering revelations and twists was a huge letdown. Such a shame.
I didn’t outright dislike the book, but the blah murder plot was a huge bummer for me. I’m not sure if I’ll read another In Death book but hmm we’ll see.

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Obsession in Death (In Death #40) by J.D. Robb

  1. Aw, I’m sad this book was a bit of a letdown. I LOVE MURDER…um, okay, that sounded really baaaaad. I love murder mysteries. 😄 I love solving cases and figuring out clues. It’s just SO FREAKISHLY AWESOME. But with a focus on romance and no big — boom — reveals? Eh, no. I’m also boggled that it’s 40th in a series. o.O I didn’t know book series even got that far these days!!
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

