REVIEW: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

cress books keep me saneTitle: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3)

Author: Marissa Meyer

Genre: YA Fantasy

Release Date: February 4th 2014

Purchase: Amazon (KindlePaperback)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower ratingflower ratingflower ratingflower rating

In this third book in the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder and Captain Thorne are fugitives on the run, now with Scarlet and Wolf in tow. Together, they’re plotting to overthrow Queen Levana and her army.
Their best hope lies with Cress, a girl imprisoned on a satellite since childhood who’s only ever had her netscreens as company. All that screen time has made Cress an excellent hacker. Unfortunately, she’s just received orders from Levana to track down Cinder and her handsome accomplice.
When a daring rescue of Cress goes awry, the group is separated. Cress finally has her freedom, but it comes at a high price. Meanwhile, Queen Levana will let nothing prevent her marriage to Emperor Kai. Cress, Scarlet, and Cinder may not have signed up to save the world, but they may be the only hope the world has.

my thoughts graphic

Boy, oh, boy was Cress just so great! I am fangirling so hard right now I fear this review won’t be nothing but exclamation points and incoherent screaming. But I’ll try my best to keep the exclamation points to a minimal.

I love Thorne. No, that’s an understatement. There are no words to describe how deep my love for him is. Yeah, he can be a jerk sometimes, and not to mention he’s cocky as hell but he’s so charming too! No wonder Cress fell for him. His being a jerk adds to his appeal. Not to mention he has such a smart mouth.

“Captain?”
“Yeah?”
“Do you think it was destiny that brought us together?”
He squinted and, after a thoughtful moment, shook his head. “No. I’m pretty sure it was Cinder.”

Cress, on the other hand, is very socially awkward, it’s so painful to watch— and I mean that in a good way. Her being weird and awkward makes her so endearing. Sometimes I just want to envelop her in a hug. Her social skills, or lack thereof, are to be understood. After all, she was imprisoned in a satellite for years with nothing for companion but her netscreens and fantasies.

“Maybe there isn’t such a thing as fate. Maybe it’s just the opportunities we’re given, and what we do with them. I’m beginning to think that maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.”

And speaking of fantasies, the one trait that we have in common is our love to daydream. She is frequently lost in thought and sometimes she uses her fantasies as her strength, imagining herself as an actress or an explorer to give herself the confidence she needs.

What I really love about Cress, and the Lunar Chronicles in general, is the author’s ability to come up with a retelling of different fairy tales and combining them in one big story line. Everything just fits so perfectly, the flow of the story is seamless.

There are also some new characters in the book. One of them is Jacin. We don’t know much about him (yet) and he seems very mysterious but I’m beginning to like him! I just know he has a very big role in Winter, the next book in the series. I’m really intrigued about his connection to Winter. And since we’re on the topic of Winter, we finally get to meet her! She wasn’t like what I expected. But then again, none of Meyer’s heroines are what I expected them to be. Winter is really odd and I love her already!

The truth is, there’s nothing I don’t love about this book. I wholeheartedly give it five stars.
Follow on Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #3) by Marissa Meyer

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

