Sunday Post #33: The Truth About My Being MIA

sunday post 2

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

tired dog

Where do I even begin? I’ve been away for too long I don’t know how to write a blog post anymore. When I opened my blog today I was surprised to find out that my last post before this was dated way back in May 30. Have I been away that long?

I could blame my being MIA to being busy with life in general (which is true) but that’s not completely accurate. The truth is *drum roll please* I lost my mojo, my momentum, my drive, or whatever you call it. Reviewing books became a chore and as a result, I have too many backlogged book reviews to write.

But while I took a leave of absence on the blog, my hands were full with writing projects!

This is the part where I tell you what I’ve been up to

camp-winner-2015-web-banner

First is Camp NaNoWriMo in April. I achieved my goal of writing a 20k word novella. And the funny thing is it took me longer to write a 20k word novella than to write a 50k word novel in November 2014.

Then came the #SparkNA Writing Class sponsored by Spark Books, a well-known publisher here in the Philippines. The class lasted for two months. As the name of the class suggests, we were tasked to write a contemporary NA romance book. I did finish on time and I submitted my work to the publisher. Right now I’m waiting for them to contact me and tell me whether they accept or reject my submission. Hopefully I won’t wait for long, and hopefully they don’t reject my story.

The photo below is taken on the last day of the writing class. I had so much fun with this class and it is really great to surround yourself with positive and like-minded people who will fiercely cheer you to the finish line.

sparkna class

I’m the one with the pink “Follow My Blog” shirt on the left side of the group (see what I did there?) and next to me in purple is Mina V. Esguerra, our mentor. photo credit: Veronica’s Here 

What’s next?

manila intrnational book fair 2015

 

I’ve always wanted to attend MIBF but it’s too far from where I live, not to mention that it’s on weekdays and I have classes on weekdays. But this year I’ll try my best to clear my schedule and attend. I want to support my fellow Filipino writers who’ll be there and also meet new friends!

2015 writing schedule

 

I have so many plot bunnies attacking me I have a hard time deciding which stories I should write first! This year I’m keeping a writing schedule where I plan out which months I’ll be writing what story. In this way, I am on track with my deadlines and goals!

I think I’m back to blogging… more or less. I’ll try to keep a weekly post schedule and follow it! 🙂

How’s your week? Tell me all about it!

10 thoughts on “Sunday Post #33: The Truth About My Being MIA

  1. CONGRATS FOR NANO THOUGH!!! Some pieces of writing are just harder than others right?!! It took me much longer than usual to write my 50K book compared to the speed I went in NaNo last year. Clearly that Nano was just a particularly fast and wonderfully inspiring month, right?! 😉

    I hope you get your blogging inspiration back though!! It’s so frustrating when it goes missing. *sad face for you* I’ve been having a bit of a slump this year too, actually, but I finally getting back into the swing of things.

    OMG I LOVE YOUR SHIRT AND I NEED ONE LIKE THAT. XD

  2. Congrats on winning Camp NaNoWriMo! That’s a huge accomplishment. And don’t even worry about backing off for awhile. We all lose our mojo every now and then and just need to get it back. You’ll find yours and all will be well.

    Just keep writing! You’ve got a gift and I want to see that story in print.

    • Thanks Katie! I submitted a manuscript to a local publisher and I’m really hoping they accept it 😀 But I’ll also want to self-publish my other stuff of course 😀

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

