19 Things I Learned in My 19 Years on Earth

19things i learned in my 19 years on earth

I don’t know about you but I like watching the clock strike twelve midnight on my birthday. So last night I stayed up late and did just that. I’m officially 19 and oh boy I’m getting old. It’s not entirely a bad thing, in fact I always look forward to my birthday because it means another year of being alive, it’s a blessing. (I know, cheesy, right?)

So then I thought about the things in life I’ve learned so far and challenged myself to think of nineteen! And now here they are.

It doesn’t hurt to be ambitious

I am a little girl with big dreams. I’m talking about outrageous dreams like being a superhero and impossible dreams like being an astrophysicist (I hate Math but I love astronomy, just don’t make me crunch numbers, please). Whenever I set my sights on a goal I always envision the end result and the end result is that I always achieve my goal. I used to think it was a bad thing, that it was so presumptuous and preposterous to always emerge victorious in all my endeavors. But you know what I found out? Successful people always envision themselves always winning. And in real life this may not always be true but when you know where the finish line is, you’re halfway there.

You’re not alone

No matter how alone you feel, you’re not. The problems you have today may seem colossal but you can always ask for help. You’re not the only one feeling it. Don’t be afraid to seek help.

Don’t be afraid to cry your heart out

Other people might say wipe your tears or stop crying. But if it was me? I’d encourage you to sob your heart out, cry until your eyes feel like falling off. After crying you might feel exhausted but at least you’ve released all the pain and anguish. I should know, I’m such a crybaby when it comes to finishing a book series I spent a decade loving or watching a very sad and depressing movie.

There’s always a rainbow after the storm

As cliché as this sounds, it’s true. And you know what? Clichés are clichés because they’re true.

Adulthood isn’t defined by age

When I was little I admired how independent and tough grownups look and now I’m nineteen but I don’t feel like it. I might look all tough and levelheaded like a responsible adult sometimes, but most of the times I feel like a ten-year-old. And that’s okay. It’s not bad to see the world through the eyes of a child.

You don’t have to wait for adulthood to do incredible things

I used to think “When I grow up I want to be…” But when do we grow up? Adulthood isn’t defined by age after all. Instead of waiting to grow up, why don’t we start doing the great things we’d love to do now?

It’s okay to dream but at some point you have to stop it and start doing

Remember the famous equation? No I’m not talking about e=mc^2. I’m talking about Success = 99% perspiration and 1% inspiration. (Note to self: this also applies to losing weight)

You’re beautiful

Don’t roll your eyes at me. It’s true. You are. I know it’s hard to believe at first. I had difficulty believing it the first time too. Screw all the beauty standard society imposes on us. We’re beautiful in our unique ways.

True love exists and it comes in more forms than one

True love isn’t just romantic love. Think about your closest friends, your family. That’s also true love. It’s also unconditional love.

Words are powerful

The pen is mightier than the sword, right? Be careful what you say. Words can either make or break a person. The praise of a high school teacher showed me the path to becoming a writer. And the worst pain I knew was caused by words, too.

Passion is happiness

A year or two ago, I made a promise to myself that I will only do things I’m passionate about. The next time you find yourself in the quest to being happy, think about one thing you’re passionate about— the thing you wouldn’t mind doing over and over, something you can envision doing for the rest of your life.

You have to believe in yourself

If you don’t believe in yourself, no one will. Have the confidence to say “I can” and you’re already halfway there.

Have an open mind

We see the world not for what it is but for who we are. And it’s easy to get trapped in the tunnel vision but widen your perspective. Try to see the world through other people’s eyes. You’ll be amazed at what you would find out.

Don’t shove your opinions on someone else’s throat

This is kind of like #13. Some people don’t only have tunnel vision, they also make other people see that they’re the one who’s right. Please don’t be that kind of person. You have two ears and one mouth to listen twice as much as you speak.

Life is magical

Need I say more? If you’re looking for the next big adventure, congratulations, you’re already in one. And the best part is that you’re the captain of your own ship.

Don’t be afraid to be you

Seriously, don’t. You might be nerdy and weird and a complete introvert like me, but that’s perfectly okay. Or maybe you’re a social butterfly who dabbles in everything from sports to origami and that’s okay too. It’s okay to be you, in fact, it’s encouraged.

Move on from your past but draw lessons from it

History only repeats itself if we don’t learn our lesson.

Nourish the inner child in you

Remember when you were young and you wanted to be all sorts of things (in my case be a superhero and an astrophysicist). That child is a courageous little girl (or boy) who doesn’t let the limitations of the real world bring her (or his) dreams down. A child doesn’t know what should or shouldn’t be done, she only knows what she wants and goes for it.

Live life to the fullest

If you summarize this whole list in a handful of words it would be “live life to the fullest”. You won’t learn these lessons yourself if you don’t live each day like it’s the best day ever.

If you’ve read that very long list above, thank you *pats you on the back*. Now excuse while I go eat some cake. 😉

6 thoughts on “19 Things I Learned in My 19 Years on Earth

  1. This is so beautiful. :’) And happy (belated) birthday, too!! I’m 21 now, but when I turned 19 I felt seriously old too, hehe, and productive because I had so much I wanted to do before I stopped being a teen. xD Remembering that life is magical is very important, I completely agree. ❤
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

  2. I really, really love this post! I think that everything in it is so important, so I think it’s awesome that you took the time to write this! 🙂

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

