GUEST POST: Harvey of Bookmarked Book Reviews

Hello everyone! I’m so excited for you to meet Harvey from Bookmarked Book Reviews. He’s going to tell you his reasons why he reads and why you should too! So. without further ado, take it away Harvey…

Why I Read (And Why You Should Too)

boooksss

Hi! My name’s Harvey and I am a book blogger at Bookmarked. First of all, I’d just like to thank Farzy for letting me write here, as I really love her blog and this is a real honour.

Why do I read? It’s a tough question, and one that can’t be answered easily. There are a number of reasons why I read… to escape into another world, to improve my vocabulary, to learn new things – a better question is what I read and what benefits I get from it. I don’t have a real motivation to read, but I still have reasons to do it – and so here are my top five reasons to read, and why you should read too.

Reading in Public Makes You 83% More Attractive

It’s true! It has been scientifically proven that reading makes you 83% more attractive in public. Who’d have thought it? Not only has reading been proven to make you more empathetic, more confident and better at small talk, it increases your chances of getting a date!

If anyone actually knows the reason why, please leave a comment, because it’s a mystery to me…

reading in library

It Reduces Stress

What do you do to de-stress? Have a glass of wine? Sleep? Cuddle a kitten? Despite exercise being the most advertised way to reduce stress, research has shown that reading beats ‘em all.  Showing to reduce stress levels by 61%, it seems that reading is not only fun but a way to help you sleep better at night.

When I’m reading, I find that it helps take my mind of things, and is not only a way to pass the time but a way to distract me. If you’ve had a tough day in the office (or playground, or whatever), then reading seems to be the best way to calm down.

books relaxing

Reading Makes You Know The Difference Between Your and You’re

It’s no secret that books improve you’re your vocabulary, but if you think about it, this isn’t just a boring fact. Vocabulary is an important part of all our lives, and as all writers and bloggers will tell you – you need to read to be able to write. I recently wrote an article on Why More Should Be Done to Encourage Kids to Read, and I was shocked to find that thousands of students across the UK can’t read well enough to be able to properly understand their GCSEs, which I find ridiculous. Even if you’re not interested in improving your vocabulary, at least as a book lover you’ll get to sound like a genius.

It Improves Your Memory

At least, it helps save it when you’re older. Research has proven that reading, not just when you’re older, decreases your chances of developing Alzheimer’s or other mental illnesses in later life. If you read, in fact, you are two and a half times less likely to develop these illnesses. Anne E. Cunningham wrote a paper on What Reading Does for the Mind, finding that people who do read more are more likely to retain information more easily.

Reading Is Fun!

What’s not fun about a book? It doesn’t need batteries, it calms you down and helps you learn! With a book you can escape and not worry about the stresses of the world. Books can provide you with everything you need in life – so why go through life completely oblivious to them?

large

 

Why do you read?

Please leave a comment!

 

Harvey

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

