REVIEW: Toxic (Pretty Little Liars #15) by Sara Shepard

toxic pretty little liars books keep me saneTitle: Toxic (Pretty Little Liars #15)

Author: Sara Shepard

Genre: YA Historical Mystery

Release Date: June 3rd 2014

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle, Hardcover)

my rating graphic

flower ratingflower ratingflower rating

One A has been captured…but the most dangerous A of all is still out there in the penultimate installment in Sara Shepard’s #1 New York Times bestselling Pretty Little Liars series.

High school seniors Aria, Emily, Spencer, and Hanna barely survived their most recent encounter with A. And it’s not over yet…. The police don’t believe there’s another, deadlier, A out there, but the girls know what-and who-they saw. If they don’t track down this final tormentor soon, A will silence them forever.

Sara Shepard’s fan base continues to grow as ABC Family’s hit Pretty Little Liars TV show draws in new readers to the #1 New York Times bestselling series. Full of unexpected twists and shocking revelations, the second-to-last novel ramps up the stakes for the jaw-dropping series conclusion in Pretty Little Liars #16.

my thoughts graphic

Before I review Toxic, I would like to comment first on the 17 other books that preceded it. I love the Pretty Little Liars series and I’ve read every book in the series, I’m talking about all 18 of them! This has gone for so long and honestly, it’s getting repetitive. You could say that I could stop reading the series if I was really bored with it but the thing is that I’m too emotionally invested in the series. I’m in too deep. Don’t get me wrong, I love this series, truly, I do but at the same time I want closure too. This can’t go on forever. I’m tired of the wild goose chase.

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s get started with the Toxic review, shall we?

There are two version of this review. First is the short one: Aria, Spencer, Hanna and Emily mess up a lot and their mistakes always come back to bite them in the ass, in the form of their stalker, A.

And this is the long version: Just when the four best friends Aria, Spencer, Hanna and Emily thought that the storm was over, A, their stalker, has gone bolder with her scheme of harassing these four girls. Anonymous text messages and notes weren’t enough, A has gone bolder and she started showing herself to the girls.

I miss her taunting notes and texts to them, it was what I was always excited for when I read the books. Needless to say, A is a total psycho, not to mention she’s incredibly smart. I wish the author would explain how she always gets away with everything. Her schemes are so perfect, everything goes according to plan. She’s almost like a god, she can do anything. The readers are as clueless the four protagonists about A’s next moves.

Nothing much is revealed about their stalker but you can see her essence through her action. There’s one thing I admire in her though—she’s very focused with the task at hand.

Aria, Emily, Spencer and Hanna aren’t bad people, but they make a lot of bad decisions, still that doesn’t have A an excuse to harass them. I feel really bad for these girls and I just want them to be happy with their life and not always look back and check if someone is lurking in the shadows. Fate is cruel to them because just when they have the thing that would make them happy, it gets ripped out of their life.

The books in the series gets repetitive and boring, I daresay I’m not the only one who has noticed this. I could almost always predict what would happen, the only thing that surprises me is how more devious A gets with each succeeding book.

I love the Pretty Little Liars series but I wouldn’t be sad to see it end, in fact I need it, I need closure. But I wish that the four girls find their happiness, they’re good people who made bad choices but they still deserve all the good things in life.

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “REVIEW: Toxic (Pretty Little Liars #15) by Sara Shepard

  1. Pingback: REVIEW: Vicious (Pretty Little Liars #16) by Sara Shepard | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

