MINI REVIEW: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

we were liars books keep me saneTitle: We Were Liars

Author: E. Lockhart

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: May 13th 2014

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Hardcover)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from National Book Award finalist and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

mythoughts

Judging from the blurb, We Were Liars looked like a very promising YA book. The author is also award-winning so really, there is little reason not to read the book. The start of the book was promising enough, the writing style was unique and attention-grabbing, enough to hook a reader.

I was halfway through it when I noticed it starting to get dull. There is nothing going on but how Cady and the overprivileged Sinclair clan spend their summer in their own private island. Most of the scenes in the book comprised of sunbathing on the beach, eating candies and kissing Cady’s boy of her dreams. I get it, you’re mega-rich Cady, can we move ON?

Needless to say, I found the book dull and boring which is a real shame because I love the author’s writing style but nothing substantial or exciting was going on until towards the end where there was a big revelation that changed the lives of the characters forever. Looking back, I am surprised I managed to get through it.

It seems that everybody likes We Were Liars… except for me. For a moment I wondered what was wrong with me because it seems I am the only one who did not like it. But in the end I realized I just couldn’t like the book enough, sure there were some great things about it but overall it was underwhelming.

Would I read another book by E. Lockhart? Probably. She has a great way of telling a story, maybe We Were Liars just wasn’t the book for me but I am not totally closing my door to Lockhart’s other books.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “MINI REVIEW: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

  1. SPOILER COMMENT:

    I also had mixed feelings about this book. I really enjoyed it but then started getting confused between what was and wasn’t real. I hated the ending.
    My English teacher always said that the worst way you can end a book is by saying it was all a dream and after reading this book I understand why.

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

