REVIEW: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #1) by Jenny Han

to all the boys ive loved before books keep me saneTitle: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before (To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before #1)

Author: Jenny Han

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: April 15th 2014

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle, Hardcover)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.

mythoughts

I was so excited to read To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before because I love Jenny Han’s other books and the story seems really fun and interesting. And this book did not disappoint me!

When her older sister went away for college, Lara Jean had to be the one in charge in their home and to take care of her younger sister, Kitty. She also liked to write love letters to her crushes but she never send it to them, instead, she hides it in a special hiding place. But then someone sent out the letters, including one to her sister’s ex-boyfriend. But Lara Jean knows he is off-limits. But Josh was now noticing Lara Jean in a whole new level. What would she do?

Normally I am hesitant to read books with love triangles but if done right, it could make a story a whole lot more interesting. I guess one of the biggest mystery in the book was who sent out Lara Jean’s love letters and I kinda already know from the start who sent out the letter. There was not much mystery there but I guess that’s okay. What I was keen to see though was how Lara Jean’s going to face her former crushes after receiving her letter. In a love triangle I always try to guess who the girl will end up with and I am pleasantly surprised when I guessed wrong. The book was not as predictable as I thought– which is good!  Before reading the book I read some mixed reviews about it so I was not sure if it’s for me but it turned out better than I expected.

There is a strong connection between family members in this story which I like. In other books it seems that the only focus is the main character and the rest of their family is completely oblivious even to the most obvious things. And in this book, we see how a whole family is involved in the story and that’s nice because we see that the main character have family support. I also like the fact that Lara Jean and her sisters have a really strong bond. I never had a sister but I think it would be great to have someone who knows you deeply and someone who you can always turn to. I think it’s just sweet.

Overall I think To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before was a great read, granted the story is not the most unique, still, I love the fact that the Lara Jean and her sisters have a strong bond. We need more sister-relationship stories, don’t you think?

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

