Top Ten Tuesday #22: New-To-Me Authors of 2014

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme/original feature hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Click the link to go to their site to see the original list.

I read so many great books this year and there are quite a few authors that I read for the first time. Narrowing down this list to only ten was hard for me because there were so many great authors in my list. The following list is in no particular order, God knows it was hard enough to just choose ten.

  • Marie Lu – I love Lu’s books so much, especially Champion. It totally ripped my heart out and made me ugly-cry for days! The Legend trilogy is my favorite dystopia novel this year.
  • Marissa Meyer – Meyer’s the Lunar Chronicles is just so freaking awesome! And I recently participated (and won yay!) Nanowrimo. Meyer was one of my inspirations during Nano, if she could win Nano and go on to become a published author, we can too!
  • Mindy McGinnis – McGinnis’ Not a Drop to Drink was heartbreaking and devastating yet so beautiful. This book made me ugly-cry too.
  • Leila Sales – Sales’ This Song Will Save Your Life is really dear to me. And this book made me ugly-cry too, you could tell I have a penchant for depressing books.
  • Katja Millay – Millay’s The Sea of Tranquility is probably my most favorite contemporary book this year.
  • A. Barson – Barson’s 45 Pounds (More or Less) is really close to my heart because I can really relate to the main character. Hey, plus size girls need love too!
  • Ransom Riggs – The black and white pictures in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was really creepy but I love how unique Riggs’ book is.
  • Manix Abrera – I am not a big fan of comics or graphic novels but Manix Abrera’s Kikomachine was so hilarious. It definitely made me a comics fan.
  • Katie Cross – I don’t read fantasy books much but I really love The Network series. I love how Cross vividly describes the world of the witches in this series.
  • Samantha Shannon – The Bone Season was a great book, for me the ending was the most memorable part of the book. Even though I am not a big fan of urban fantasy, I really loved Shannon’s book.
One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday #22: New-To-Me Authors of 2014

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

