REVIEW: Captive in the Dark (The Dark Duet #1) by C.J. Roberts

12513614Title: Captive in the Dark (The Dark Duet #1)

Author: C.J. Roberts

Genre: NA Erotica

Release Date: July 20th 2011

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle, Paperback)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Caleb is a man with a singular interest in revenge. Kidnapped as a young boy and sold into slavery by a power-hungry mobster, he has thought of nothing but vengeance. For twelve years he has immersed himself in the world of pleasure slaves searching for the one man he holds ultimately responsible. Finally, the architect of his suffering has emerged with a new identity, but not a new nature. If Caleb is to get close enough to strike, he must become the very thing he abhors and kidnap a beautiful girl to train her to be all that he once was.

Eighteen-year-old Olivia Ruiz has just woken up in a strange place. Blindfolded and bound, there is only a calm male voice to welcome her. His name is Caleb, though he demands to be called Master. Olivia is young, beautiful, naïve and willful to a fault. She has a dark sensuality that cannot be hidden or denied, though she tries to accomplish both. Although she is frightened by the strong, sadistic, and arrogant man who holds her prisoner, what keeps Olivia awake in the dark is her unwelcome attraction to him.

WARNING: This book contains very disturbing situations, dubious consent, strong language, and graphic violence.

mythoughts

While writing this review, I kept asking myself, did I enjoy the book? I found myself saying no but…

All her life, Livvie wanted nothing but to blend in with the shadows, to go unnoticed. She did everything in her power to not get noticed by men. But despite all her effort, she found herself abducted and being trained to be a sex slave. So much for blending in.

Caleb knew he was broken beyond repair and his soul was already damned to hell. He was devoid of emotion and he knew nothing about caring for a living soul, well, aside from himself. But all of that changed when he met Livvie.

Reading Captured in the Dark was almost too much for me to bear. This book has been sitting in my Kindle shelf for a long time now and I have attempted multiple times to read it but I did not get to the end until now. I heard so much talk about the book being dark and depressing, some even said it has taboo and controversial themes. And they are right.

I have never read a book about sex slaves or how they are trained. Caleb was also very disturbing. Livvis’s situation is just too depressing too. My knee-jerk reaction was “This book is too weird for me, I don’t like it.” But after reading the book I sat in a corner for a moment and asked myself, “Did I enjoy the book?” I did not. But did Roberts write a beautiful book? Yes, that’s for sure.

Livvie and Caleb are so fucked up—for the lack of a better term yet they find themselves drawn to each other. I could not exactly hate Caleb for doing what he does to Livvie because I could see how the trauma and the pain he had experienced so early in his life had shaped the man he is today. Livvie came from a messed up family, she wanted nothing but for her mother to love her. They have both been through so much and I feel their pain and I did not enjoy seeing them so tormented. Even though they are only fictional characters, there are people out there who have been sexually abused, sold to slavery, beaten until they were only inches from death. It is so heartbreaking to think about it but unfortunately, the world is so unfair.

It is indeed an unusual book, and it is not for the faint of heart. I almost did not finish it. But kudos to Roberts for managing to write a book with taboo themes but still made it beautiful and riveting. I have got to admire her dedication and her brilliance for writing Captured in the Dark.

The book may not be for everyone, but if you think you can handle Captured in the Dark, finishing the book would be a great reward.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Captive in the Dark (The Dark Duet #1) by C.J. Roberts

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

