NaNoWriMo News: I Survived NaNoWriMo!

winner-2014-web-banner

NanoWriMo News is a feature in Books Keep Me Sane that will give you updates and news about Farzy’s lexical bout in the name of novel-writing throughout November.

I Survived NaNoWriMo!

NaNoWriMo has come to an end and the aftermath left me with a messed up sleeping pattern, eye bags and pimples due to staying up late trying to make my daily word count. Writing a novel in a month also made me a recluse, a friend of mine once asked me why I was always in a rush to go home. I told her that I was writing a novel in a month. She probably thought I was only joking, I mean who is crazy enough to write a novel in a month? I am!

Looking back, November had been a whirlwind of typing like mad in the computer late into the night and trying not to collapse from lack of sleep while walking around my university campus. At times I wondered if I was deliberately trying to kill myself from the amount of coffee I was gulping like water. It was all so crazy but I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Even when I took on the challenge of writing fifty thousand words in a month, I thought that I was not going to make it. I guess I underestimated my desire to finish a novel. Sure there were times when I thought I could not write another word anymore. But when those times came I close my eyes and I envision Marissa Meyer’s Cinder and Stephanie Perkins’ Anna and the French Kiss series, both authors have participated and won NaNoWriMo in the past. If they could finish a novel in a month and go on to have it published, then I can, too!

writing gif

One thing I did not expect when I joined NaNo was the amount of encouragement and positivity from everyone. It was nice to get encouraging feedback and cheer from your fellow writers.

Needless to say, I am incredibly proud of reaching 50k words. I have tried writing a novel more times that I can count but I never finished them. There was always one reason or another. It could be because I ran out of ideas, got busy with life or I just did not feel like finishing it. Looking at my unfinished drafts made me feel ashamed, how can my dream of becoming a published author come true if I can’t even get through the first draft? Joining NaNoWriMo made me realize what was wrong with me all along—I did not have a deadline. I always made excuses to put off writing and then eventually I forgot all about it. But NaNoWriMo forced me to keep writing every day for thirty days and the result? A finished manuscript, albeit a messy one. But that is okay, editing is always there to polish my work.

So what is next for the novel?

I am still mentally patting my back, still basking in the afterglow of a job well done. In January I will start editing my novel and then I will submit it to some local publishers, ideally, I also want to pitch it to agents and publishers in the US but I am not sure if they will want my manuscript since I live in the Philippines. And then there is the waiting, of not knowing whether they will approve your story or not. What if they don’t? Does that mean you can’t see your book published? I would rather do the publishing myself and let the readers decide if my book is great or not.

Hopefully, everything goes well for me and my novel. How about you, have you participated in NaNoWriMo? You should know that whether you wrote five thousand or fifty thousand words, you should congratulate yourself for a job well done. Not everyone is brave enough to take on this crazy challenge of writing a novel in a month.

9 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo News: I Survived NaNoWriMo!

  1. Pingback: My #BuqoYA Online Writing Class Experience | Books Keep Me Sane

  2. Congratulations! 😀 Aw man, that was quite a ride, wasn’t it? I always feel like NaNoWriMo is for crazies, and yet I still join. But I won too, yay!

  3. Congrats! I have sooo much editing I have to do before I ever let anyone read mine, but I still have high hopes for it! A challenge like this is so awesome, but difficult!

    • Congrats! And I hope you finish your story. I finished mine even before I reached 50k but I tried writing some filler scene and an epilogue (which was not in my initial plan) just to get to the target word count 😀

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

