NaNoWriMo News: The NaNoWriMo Kick-off Party

nanowrimo news books keep me sane

NanoWriMo News is a feature in Books Keep Me Sane that will give you updates and news about Farzy’s lexical bout in the name of novel-writing throughout November.

The NaNoWriMo Kick-off Party

Who knew being in a room full of writers can both exciting and intimidating?

Last Saturday, I attended the NaNoWriMo kick-off party at Dekada Historic Filipino Restaurant in Glorietta, Makati. I arrived at the venue fifteen minutes after three o’clock because I got lost trying to find the restaurant. At first I didn’t know how to approach the group, the first person I recognized in the restaurant was Anton (Flatlander), one of the Municipal Liaisons for Asia :: Philippines Region but he was on the phone so I was hesitant to approach him. Just then, I caught sight of Liana (purplyana), another ML, and guess what, she was wearing purple! 😀 I had a brief chat with her, introducing myself, then I sat at one of the reserved seats.

After everyone was seated, we were asked to introduce ourselves as a fictional character. I introduced myself as a female Sherlock Holmes because I want to be as intelligent and as good as him in deductions (it’s no secret I love Sherlock Holmes). After the introduction was over, I chatted with the people in our table and we quickly found out that all of us are newbies. There was no seating arrangement but it just so happened that the newbies were seated together!

It was really fun to chat and meet fellow writers, I’ve never been in a room full of writers! It was really fun to exchange ideas about the plots and talk about the books that we like. Not to mention the food was amazing, too!

25102014802

Dekada (which in English means “decade”) served us this delish merienda (light afternoon snack) of pancit palabok, puto, lumpiang sariwa, palitaw, ginataang halo-halo and turon. We enjoyed chatting over our scrumptious food. The MLs were very friendly too! Anton and Liana came to our table to get to know the newbies and we talked about the genre of our stories. I told them the genre of my story is romance (no surprises there) but I haven’t decided if it’s going to be NA or YA. Gail, one of the NaNo newbies shared to the group that she’s writing a steampunk novel set in the Philippines! I think it’s the coolest thing I’ve heard in a while. Six, another newbie is going to write an urban fantasy/ paranormal story. I really enjoyed exchanging ideas with them.

Anton and Liana and a couple of NaNoWriMo veterans shared some tips in surviving the month of November. Liana introduced the Reverse NaNoWriMo and explained to us how it works. Tina, a former ML also dropped by to chat and to share tips to NaNoWriMo participants this year.

My favorite part of the event was the Collaborative Writing Activity. We chose the YA genre but I think our story was a little “wild” to be labeled YA. It was really fun coming up with plot ideas, each crazier than the last. We had so much fun writing a story as a group. I never knew coming up with a story and trading ideas with a fellow writer could be this fun.

25102014812

After the writing activity, the MLs gave away a lot of stuff! Here are some of the things I got from the event.

25102014816

I especially like the notebook with the handmade/ recycled paper and the NaNoWriMo stickers! 😀

The kick-off party was a blast, so many participants arrived and everyone was very friendly. It was a joy for me to be in a room full of like-minded people who share my passion for writing fiction. Thanks to NaNoWriMo I found a community that completely understands and supports me and my writing.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo News: The NaNoWriMo Kick-off Party

  1. That sounds like an amazing day! That’s so cool that you got forms and stuff – sounds like they were really prepared for you guys. We had a meet up in Belgium as well, but I couldn’t go because I was sick -_-” Hopefully I’ll be able to go to one of the write-ins.

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

