POPCORN REVIEWS: Maleficent

popcorn review - books keep me sane

Popcorn Reviews is a feature here @ Books Keep Me Sane which gives me a chance to share with the readers of this blog my reviews of movies/TV series that are related to books.

Maleficent-2014-Movie-PosterTitle: Maleficent

Director: Robert Stromberg

Writers: Linda Woolverton

Genre: Fantasy

Release Date: 28th May, 2014 (US)

 
myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

A vengeful fairy is driven to curse an infant princess, only to discover that the child may be the one person who can restore peace to their troubled land.

mythoughts

Growing up, I was not a fan of fairy tales. I never understood the logic behind true love’s kiss. Is one kiss really enough for a girl to marry a boy? Is one kiss enough to solve all the world’s problem? From a young age I knew that love is not supposed to be instant, that there’s more to it than spark. Love should be worked on, to be built upon and worth fighting for.

That said, I was excited for Maleficent because

A.) Maleficent is one of the most iconic villains there is (alongside Voldemort and Darth Vader) and it also helps that Angelina Freaking Jolie is playing the role

B.) Lana del Rey has a wonderful and haunting version of Once Upon a Dream and I love Lana del Rey

C.) The point-of-view-of-the-villain angle is really interesting, don’t you think?

maleficent gif

Maleficent was orphaned at a young age and the whole fairy community helped in raising her. One day she met a human named Stefan and they became friends. She never really understood the greed and envy of mankind until Stefan betrayed her.

Maleficent is not entirely bad, she is just hurt and betrayed that’s why she did what she did. This movie was an opportunity for us to get to know more of Maleficent, she was not what she seemed she were. In the movie, she wasn’t always so heartless, always so evil. There are even times when she is genuinely laughing and having fun. It was a great pleasure to get to know more about her, to know her side of the story.

maleficent gif aurora

I remember reading a comment from a trailer for the movie about how this movie is like a pity party for Maleficent, like, “Aww look at her. Poor Maleficent.” I don’t think that’s the case. Maleficent wasn’t some helpless girl. She was hurt and betrayed and that lead to cursing an innocent child but can you really blame her? Her heart was crushed by that time.

I never dreamed that I could love you so much.

Unfortunately, I did not watch the movie in 3D but if I were, I would have been blown because all the special effects were amazing! Elle Fanning was also a fantastic Aurora. Not only was she so pretty and dainty with her braided hair and soft-spoken manner but I could feel her being Aurora, if that makes sense. Sometimes when I compare the character in the book and in the movie, the characters do not feel genuine for me. But when I watched how Fanning played the role of sweet, innocent Aurora, I knew it was genuine.

maleficent gif 2

 

For the record, I love this version more than the Disney version because it had a nice twist to it and it isn’t your average fairy tale. If you’re looking for a classic tale with a dark twist Maleficent is the one for you.

maleficent gif 1

 

Follow on Bloglovin

siggie

2 thoughts on “POPCORN REVIEWS: Maleficent

  1. I watched this last weekend, and I didn’t really know what it was going to be about. Of course I knew it was going to be about Maleficent, but I thought it was just going to be a big movie about her going on an evil power trip, haha XD

    Which is why I was so surprised that this movie was SO much more than that! And I absolutely loved it. I definitely don’t think it was a pity party – I think they handled Maleficent’s reasons for doing what she did really well.

    I’m so glad you liked this one, Farzy!

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

