REVIEW: Alex Cross, Run (Alex Cross #20) by James Patterson

alex cross run books keep me saneTitle: Alex Cross, Run (Alex Cross #20)

Author: James Patterson

Genre: Mystery Thriller

Release Date: February 18th 2013

Purchase: Amazon (Paperback, Audiobook)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

 

Top plastic surgeon Elijah Creem is renowned for his skills in the operating room, and for his wild, no-expense-spared “industry parties,” bringing in underage exotic dancers and models for nights of drugs, champagne, and uninhibited sex. That is, until Detective Alex Cross busts one of Creem’s lavish soirees and ruins his fun. Now Creem is willing to do anything to avoid going to jail. DON’T THINK, ALEX CROSS But Alex doesn’t have time to dwell on that case. A beautiful woman has been found murdered in her car, a lock of her hair viciously ripped off. Then a second woman is found hanging from a sixth-floor window with a brutal scar slashed across her stomach. When a third mutilated body is discovered, rumors of three serial killers on the loose send Washington D.C. into an all-out frenzy. JUST RUN Alex is under so much pressure to solve these three grim cases that he hasn’t noticed that someone else investigating him-someone so obsessed and so twisted that they’ll do anything-ANYTHING- to get the vengeance they require. Alex Cross, Run is James Patterson’s most unrelenting story yet-a white-hot, sensational thrill ride with the most extreme and gripping characters Patterson has ever brought to life.

mythoughts

James Patterson is one of those authors whose books I keep seeing in every single bookstore I visit, and it’s not just one or a few books either but almost always different titles every time. For a long time I wondered if Patterson’s books are that good. But it wasn’t until now that I read one of his novels.

The famous detective Alex Cross finds himself investigating a series of murder where the victims have striking similarities and all of them are killed in the same manner. Meanwhile, a person from Alex’s past is set to ruin his family and career. Is Alex Cross the hunter or the hunted?

I love to read crime fiction but I don’t read as much crime fiction books as I would like mainly because I am very picky. I would not read a crime fiction book if the author is not really popular. Am I the only one who feels this way towards this particular genre?

Anyhow, Alex Cross, Run is a superb book, I could not stop reading it! You know the kind of paranoia you get after reading a horror book? You get afraid to turn on the shower thinking instead of water, blood would come out of the shower? Or you’re afraid to look at your reflection in the bathroom mirror, thinking that the reflection of a ghastly lady will appear on the mirror? That’s the kind of paranoia I felt during and after reading the book. Sometimes I get afraid of opening the closet, thinking a serial killer would jump me. Or I don’t want to open the door because maybe there’s a knife-wielding psycho that is about to stab me to death.

Even though Alex Cross, Run was wreaking havoc to my sanity, I still devoured it with much gusto. I love the fact that Patterson showed the readers how the serial killers think. His narration is very dark and twisted. It sickens me that there are real people in our society who thinks so morbidly and who would kill just for fun. The mind of a serial killer is not a place you would want to go into but once you are already there, you’re powerless to resist its allure. It’s interesting to try to understand how they think. Interesting and sickening at the same time.

The only downside for me I guess is the point of view of the story. When the story is told in Alex’s view, it’s on the first person POV but when it is told in the serial killers’ POV it is on the third person. I wish Patterson would have chosen third person POV for all the narrators of the story to add cohesiveness to the whole book. It was just a minor glitch though and overall, I absolutely loved Alex Cross, Run. Will I read another Patterson book? Definitely!

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

