Hello October

ramblings keep me sane

When I started this blog my focus was on book reviews but now that it has grown, I want to share some stuff other than book reviews. Ramblings Keep Me sane is essentially about, well, ramblings. It could be book-related ramblings… or not. It’ll be like a discussion post where readers can share their opinion about anything under the sun.

hello october

I just realized this is my first post in October! I apologize for being MIA in the last two weeks. I was mostly preoccupied with my undergrad thesis and final exams in all my seven classes. I really hope I do well in my exams and that I pass all my classes this semester. Fingers crossed!

If you’re wondering why I am having finals in October, here’s why: an academic year in the Philippines starts in June and ends in March, October is when the first semester would end. I know, pretty odd, huh?

The Ombre Craze

ombre hair

I want my hair to look something like this. I just hope I don’t mess up.

And since school’s out for the next two weeks, I am thinking of ombre-ing my hair. I have scoured the internet for different tutorials and do’s and don’ts for dyeing your hair. I am going to do it myself because I thought it will be fun! (And because I am a cheapskate.) This is actually my first time coloring my hair. It feels really scary (what if I mess up my hair?) but bold at the same time.

My hair’s natural color is black and it’s about time I spiced things up. I chose to do ombre because it’s low maintenance. When I color my hair entirely the dark roots will show in a couple of months and it would require another touch up. With ombre, I don’t have to worry about growing roots. Ombre looks good on wavy hair and since my hair is naturally wavy, this is perfect for me. And isn’t ombre just elegant?

Head to my WeHeartIt collection for pretty pictures/ inspiration for ombre hair!

The World Needs Your Novel

writing typewriter books keep me saneLast month I mentioned that I am joining the National Novel Writing Month. Now I am done with researching about the story, the main settings are in Los Angeles and Tokyo and I have never been in both places so I had to scour the internet and books to have a feel for these two places. I already have a rough idea of how the story would start and how it would end. The main challenge in November is to write the middle part and to connect those pieces together.

The Best of Me will be released in Philippine cinemas in October 22 and I can’t wait to watch it. Earlier this year I read and reviewed The Best of Me and I absolutely loved it! Based on the trailer they changed some major events of the story. It’s a bummer but oh well. I still want to watch the movie!

“Because you aren’t just someone I loved back then. You were my best friend, my best self, and I can’t imagine giving that up again.” He hesitated searching for the right words. “You might not understand, but I gave you the best of me, and after you left, nothing was ever the same.”

the best of me movie poster

 Lots’a Books

The Blood of Olympus just came out and I am so excited! However, I am not sure if I will read it right away or not. I am excited to get my hands on another Riordan book but I don’t think I am ready to see the ending yet. 😦

a mad wicked folly books keep me saneAnd speaking of awesome books, right now I am reading A Mad Wicked Folly, which is on my Fall TBR list. I have wanted to read the book for so long and I regret not reading it sooner. So far it’s really good and I really like Victoria, also I think I am having a crush on Will! Squee!

How’s your October so far? What plans do you have for this month?

8 thoughts on “Hello October

  1. I’m deeply in love with the “A Mad, Wicked Folly” book cover. I may have to buy it just to try it out. I’m such a squirrel like that, you know? I see something pretty and have to have it!

  2. Good luck with the ombre dyeing, hope it turns out beautiful! I’m also joining NaNo, it’s going to be crazy 😀 as for October, I don’t really have anything planned yet. Really I’m just going to do some more prep work on my NaNo novel, and try to survive school.

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

