Sunday Post #26: The World Needs Your Novel

sunday post

The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted @ Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news~ A post to recap the past week on your blog, showcase books and things we have received and share news about what is coming up on our blog for the week ahead. See rules here: Sunday Post Meme

On the blog

I have two awesome giveaways for you guys:

Click on ’em, you know you want to. 😉

I have three 5-star book reviews coming up this week so stay tuned for them 😀

*Also, sorry for the slow reply on the comments. I feel bad because I can’t reply to your comments right away but I will do my best to reply to them as soon as I can.

In my life

September is officially Nanowrimo prep time! If you’re not familiar with Nanowrimo, well, let’s consult Wikipedia.

Nanowrimo is an annual internet-based creative writing project that takes place during the month of November. NaNoWriMo challenges participants to write 50,000 words of a new novel from November 1st until the deadline at 11:59PM on November 30th. The goal of NaNoWriMo is to get people writing and keep them motivated throughout the process. To ensure this, the website provides participants with tips for writer’s block, local places writers participating in NaNoWriMo are meeting, and an online community of support. The idea is to focus on completion instead of perfection.

nanowrimo writer leopard

On Sunday Post #24 I did mention about writing a story but that was only my warm up for the upcoming Nanowrimo this November (and in case you’re wondering, I haven’t finished that one). Right now I’m starting another manuscript, this time it’s about crime and romance and yakuza! I know, I have the tendency to bite more than I can chew but here’s to hoping I can manage to finish both manuscripts. I am so excited for this one. I’m starting to research about the yakuza, picking Japanese names, collecting pictures of various places in Japan and L.A. (the main setting of my story) and filling out the Official Character Questionnaire . But here’s the catch, I am only allowing myself one week to do these things because giving myself more time could be another excuse to put off writing the novel. I will be giving more update about my Nanowrimo saga once I’m through the research and outlining phase.

I need all the support I can get since the inner pessimist in me always shouts discouragement when I write so, can I count on you as my cheerleader?

cheerleader gif

14 thoughts on “Sunday Post #26: The World Needs Your Novel

  1. Pingback: NaNoWriMo News: How to Survive the Thirty Day Lexical Challenge That is NaNoWrimo | Books Keep Me Sane

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post #27: Honey You Should See Me in a Crown | Books Keep Me Sane

  3. Good luck in the Nanowrimo! I’m not a writer (I have a hard enough time writing my reviews so I’m not even going to try to write a story lol), but your story sounds really good!!

    • Thank you! Writing is hard but if you start with the small things I’m sure you can manage it. If it’s your first time writing a story, try writing a short story first, and then a novella and then a novel. 😀

  4. Eep! You’re doing NaNo?

    I love it when book bloggers are also writers. I hope you do some more posts on what you’re planning for Nano because i love to see how people prepare. I did it last year, I probably won’t do it this year, but I love to hear about it! 🙂

    • Yes I’m doing a series of Nano posts throughout November as a way to further motivate myself and just because I love to update my readers about my Nano journey. 😀 I’m so excited to do this!

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

