REVIEW: Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss #2) by Stephanie Perkins

lola and the boy next door books keep me saneTitle: Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss #2)

Author: Stephanie Perkins

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: September 29th 2011

Purchase: Amazon (Paperback or Kindle)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion…she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit–more sparkly, more fun, more wild–the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket–a gifted inventor–steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

mythoughts

If there’s one word I’d use to describe Lola and the Boy Next Door, it would be ‘cute’. Isn’t it cute to have a crush on the boy next door? And isn’t it cute when that crush develops into something more? I admit I am a sucker for this kind of stories.

Lola is probably one of the weirdiest and quirkiest characters I have encountered in the YA contemporary romance genre and I mean that in a good way.the way she dresses is really weird but unique. I admire the attention to detail and the creativity of what she wears. The fact that she dresses very uniquely adds vibrance to her personality.

Once upon a time, there was a girl who talked to the moon. And she was mysterious and she was perfect, in that way that girls who talk to moons are.

I gotta admit that I have a crush on Cricket (though I find his name unusual). I kind of like nerdy guys like him. Plus, he has this very pleasant personality and he seemed so innocent. Perkins has a way of creating such crushable guys, how does she make us all fall in love with her male protagonists?

It was fun following the love story of Lola and Cricket, I enjoyed seeing them dancing around each other, getting shy like 4th graders when their crush talks to them. Their love story isn’t too cheesy or too sweet either, which I like.

“And if I’m the stars, Cricket Bell is entire galaxies.”

LGBT is still a touchy subject in the society today, and this book has some LGBT aspects. I don’t really have a problem with books having these kinds of aspects, in fact I am quite happy that authors are acknowledging the LGBT community through their works. But I still want to point it out to potential readers of the book, just so you get a heads up. I know that not all of us are comfortable reading books with LGBT themes.

Lola and the Boy Next Door is such a sweet contemporary romance novel and Perkins really knows how to make the readers swoon with her crushable male protagonists. I highly recommend this book to all romantics like me!

“When it’s right, it’s simple.”

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “REVIEW: Lola and the Boy Next Door (Anna and the French Kiss #2) by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #25: What I Like/Dislike In Romance Novels | Books Keep Me Sane

    • They are! If you’re into travel + romance you’ll really love Anna and the French Kiss and Isla and the Happily Ever After, if you’re into the girl-falls-for-the-boy-next-door thing you’ll love LBND.

  2. Pingback: Freebie Friday: Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins [INT] | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

