REVIEW: Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi

shatter me books keep me saneTitle: Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1)

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Genre: YA Dystopian

Release Date: November 15th 2011

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Hardcover)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

I have a curse
I have a gift

I am a monster
I’m more than human

My touch is lethal
My touch is power

I am their weapon
I will fight back

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

mythoughts

At first glance Shatter Me seems just like all the other dystopian books out there, but there’s something that makes Shatter Me a cut above the rest.

Juliette’s power is unlike anything I have seen in the fantasy genre. I was drawn by the fact that Juliette can kill a person by touching them. How cool is that? All her life Juliette was branded a freak and a madwoman and she was being used by the Reestablishment as a weapon. But she’s had enough and she now knows how to fight back.

You can’t touch me,” I whisper. I’m lying, is what I don’t tell him. He can touch me, is what I’ll never tell him. Please touch me, is what I want to tell him.”

I am generally wary of books with love triangle but I love the two guys in this book warring over Juliette. Adam seems like a nice guy, I think he genuinely cares for Juliette but Warren is more interesting. I can’t tell if he cares for Juliette or if he just wants to use her, which makes him really intriguing. And it’s kind of hot to fall for the bad guy, isn’t it?

“His smile is laced with dynamite. “Go to sleep”
“Go to hell.”
He works his jaw. Walks to the door. “I’m working on it.”

Another thing I really love about Shatter Me is Mafi’s style of writing. I love the crossed out words. They add more “personality” to her writing and not to mention it is very unique. I have only seen crossed out words used a couple of times in other books and none of them were as widely used as Shatter Me. The crossed out words and phrases really helped the readers get a better understanding at Juliet’s thoughts. I really like reading in her point of view. She reminds me of Fia from Mind Games, another character whose train of thoughts is derailed. It’s really fun to read about characters like them, I guess because I can relate to how they think.

The most valuable lesson I learned in Shatter Me is that we should all learn to love and accept ourselves. In the story, Juliette struggles to accept herself at first, thinking she is just a worthless human. But later on she learned how to fight back and love herself for who and what she is.

“I always wonder about raindrops.

I wonder about how they’re always falling down, tripping over their own feet, breaking their legs and forgetting their parachutes as they tumble right out of the sky toward an uncertain end. It’s like someone is emptying their pockets over the earth and doesn’t seem to care where the contents fall, doesn’t seem to care that the raindrops burst when they hit the ground, that they shatter when they fall to the floor, that people curse the days the drops dare to tap on their doors.

I am a raindrop.

My parents emptied their pockets of me and left me to evaporate on a concrete slab.”

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “REVIEW: Shatter Me (Shatter Me #1) by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #25: What I Like/Dislike In Romance Novels | Books Keep Me Sane

  2. I was also surprised with her writing style and I really like how the story is unique. There are so many dystopian books now but this series stands out. Great review!

  3. I’m glad you liked this one, Farzy!

    I definitely agree with the unique writing style, and I loved the crossed out phrases, as well. I think they really did a good job in representing what Juliette was feeling deep inside of her, but that she was afraid to admit out loud or that she was afraid to really consider.

    I was a bit wary of the love triangle at first but like you said, the two boys are so intricate in their own ways. I was torn about which one I liked the best after reading this book, but once I read the novella Destroy Me, my mind was made up. I definitely urge you to read that one, because it was my favourite in the series (including the three books!).

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

