REVIEW: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #1) by Ransom Riggs

miss pregrines home for peculiar children books keep me saneTitle: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #1)

Author: Ransom Riggs

Genre: YA Paranormal

Release Date: June 7th 2011

Purchase: Amazon (Paperback or Kindle)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of very curious photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

mythoughts

I have read a lot of novels before and when I say a lot I mean hundreds but Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is one heck of a unique and unusual book.

Jacob grew up to the fantasy stories of his grandfather. For a long time he believed all the wild tales of his grandfather was true until he was old enough to question if his grandfather really fought monsters. There were also these peculiar photographs of people with strange abilities like floating and being invisible. Jacob dismissed these as only a fairy tale and an exaggeration told by his grandfather to impress him. Until one day when Jacob realized that maybe his grandfather has told him nothing but the truth after all.

“I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary. I had simply failed to notice how extraordinary it was.”

I love books and I am really interested in photography and this book combined the two. I have never seen a book before where the story is built upon pictures. And not just ordinary pictures. The photographs used in the book are in black and white, they’re vintage, and really strange. The pictures are also very hunting, too. Well, not haunting in a creepy way but the more I look into their faces the more I think about them. There’s something really intriguing about these photographs and they blend with the words of the story so well. I have read hundreds of novels and this is the first time I have encountered a novel that incorporates words and photographs. And it works!

I like how Riggs presented the story. The notion of having to visit an island off the map sounds really fascinating and full of adventure. There were also strange happenings in the island that will surely keep you on the edge of your seat. The characters in the story are also very unique.

“How many times have I told you? Polite persons do not take supper in the nude.”

I especially like Emma and her fiery personality. Jacob is the real star of the story, though. He has courage even in the midst of a dire situation and he is such a great friend to the children of the orphanage. Riggs crafted a protagonist that readers can surely relate with.

The ending of the story wasn’t exactly a happy one but it promises a whole new adventure waiting for our beloved peculiar children. I am sure a lot more about Miss Peregrine and the world of the peculiars will be revealed in the next book and I am so excited for it all! Everything about this book was just so great for me, I really enjoyed reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. I highly recommend this to anyone who are searching for a very unique book that you surely won’t forget anytime soon.

“Sometimes it’s better not to look back.”

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

10 thoughts on “REVIEW: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #1) by Ransom Riggs

  1. I’ve seen so much about this book. I’m glad that you’ve liked it because I haven’t sought out many reviews yet, but I know the time is ticking until I actually pick this book up and give it a chance. Every time I type in the title of my book this one pops up 🙂

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

