MINI REVIEW: Pivot Point (Pivot Point #1) by Kasie West

pivot point books keep me saneTitle: Pivot Point  (Pivot Point #1)

Author: Kasie West

Genre: YA Paranormal

Release Date:  February 12th 2013

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Paperback)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Knowing the outcome doesn’t always make a choice easier . . .

Addison Coleman’s life is one big “What if?” As a Searcher, whenever Addie is faced with a choice, she can look into the future and see both outcomes. It’s the ultimate insurance plan against disaster. Or so she thought. When Addie’s parents ambush her with the news of their divorce, she has to pick who she wants to live with—her father, who is leaving the paranormal compound to live among the “Norms,” or her mother, who is staying in the life Addie has always known. Addie loves her life just as it is, so her answer should be easy. One Search six weeks into the future proves it’s not.

In one potential future, Addie is adjusting to life outside the Compound as the new girl in a Norm high school where she meets Trevor, a cute, sensitive artist who understands her. In the other path, Addie is being pursued by the hottest guy in school—but she never wanted to be a quarterback’s girlfriend. When Addie’s father is asked to consult on a murder in the Compound, she’s unwittingly drawn into a dangerous game that threatens everything she holds dear. With love and loss in both lives, it all comes down to which reality she’s willing to live through . . . and who she can’t live without.

mythoughts

I am not much into paranormal novels but I am always open to new novels so I tried reading Pivot Point. And I am really glad I did!

I really enjoyed reading Pivot Point. I love how West depicted the Compound where all the para-people lived. When we think of paranormal the first things that come into our minds are vampires and werewolves and evil fairies, right? But the people in the story have very unique abilities. One of them is Addie– her ability is to see into the outcome of whichever choice she is going to choose. You might think her power is not as great as having superhuman strength or being able to fly but Addie’s power comes handy in decision-making, don’t you think?

“Sometimes perfection reveals the lie, …, not the truth.”

There is a sort of love triangle in the book, which I know a lot of you are wary of. But the love triangle didn’t bother me, in fact it increased my interest for the book.

“I want you to choose me, Addie,” he whispers. “I want this to be real.”

The ending was a little unexpected to me, I can’t believe Addie is willing to make such a big sacrifice for other people, but it only made me love her more.

“When I read, I feel emotion all on my own. Emotion no living person is making me feel.”

Overall I think Pivot Point is a great book with a lovable main character and a unique twist to it, it is also a great book about friendship. Pivot Point is one of my favorite YA books so far.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “MINI REVIEW: Pivot Point (Pivot Point #1) by Kasie West

  1. Pingback: Freebie Friday: Pivot Point (Pivot Point #1) by Kasie West [INT] | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

