MINI REVIEW: Code Name Verity (Code Name Verity #2) by Elizabeth Wein

code name verity books keep me saneTitle: Code Name Verity

Author: Elizabeth Wein

Genre: YA Historical

Release Date:  February 6th 2012

Purchase: Amazon (Kindle or Paperback)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Oct. 11th, 1943-A British spy plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France. Its pilot and passenger are best friends. One of the girls has a chance at survival. The other has lost the game before it’s barely begun.

When “Verity” is arrested by the Gestapo, she’s sure she doesn’t stand a chance. As a secret agent captured in enemy territory, she’s living a spy’s worst nightmare. Her Nazi interrogators give her a simple choice: reveal her mission or face a grisly execution.

As she intricately weaves her confession, Verity uncovers her past, how she became friends with the pilot Maddie, and why she left Maddie in the wrecked fuselage of their plane. On each new scrap of paper, Verity battles for her life, confronting her views on courage, failure and her desperate hope to make it home. But will trading her secrets be enough to save her from the enemy?

A Michael L. Printz Award Honor book that was called “a fiendishly-plotted mind game of a novel” in The New York Times, Code Name Verity is a visceral read of danger, resolve, and survival that shows just how far true friends will go to save each other.

mythoughts

I heard a lot of great reviews about Code Name Verity so I decided to try it for myself. Code Name Verity is one of those WWII novels which I find really interesting.

It was a little hard for me to relate to the characters and all the different kinds of airships and places in the novel because I don’t know much about the WWII. Half of the time I have no idea what a Puss Moth looks like. Still, I enjoyed the story.

The story is narrated by Kitty Hawk and Verity. The first part was told in Verity’s point of view and the second part by Kitty Hawk’s. Verity narrates her hardship in the hands of the Gestapo and Kitty Hawk tells us about the anxiety of waiting for news about Verity, the fear for her best friend’s life. I really admire their very strong friendship and the lengths they are willing to go through for each other.

“KISS ME, HARDY! Kiss me, QUICK!”

I think the ending was the most heart-breaking part. I never expected it to happen like that, it was a complete shocker to me! Code Name Verity even made me cry!

“It’s like being in love, discovering your best friend.”

If you are looking for a book that has great friendship among the characters or a great book about World War II then Code Name Verity is for you.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

5 thoughts on “MINI REVIEW: Code Name Verity (Code Name Verity #2) by Elizabeth Wein

  1. The books I’ve read about WWII is The Diary of Anne Frank and The Book Thief. Both touch my heart and I think Code Name Verity is same and deserves to be read by everyone. Thanks for the review. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post #20: Shake It Like a Polaroid Picture | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them