REVIEW: Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu

legend books keep me saneTitle: Legend (Legend #1)

Author: Marie Lu

Genre: YA Dystopian

Release Date: November 29th 2011

Purchase: Amazon (Paperback or Kindle)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths – until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

Full of nonstop action, suspense, and romance, this novel is sure to move readers as much as it thrills.

mythoughts

I heard so many great things about Legend so I decided to try it for myself. At first I was wary of reading it because I have a love-hate relationship with dystopian books. But I am glad I did give the book a chance because boy did it blow my mind.

Day is the most wanted criminal by the Republic of America. The Republic doesn’t know much about him– not even what he looks like. But the Republic is determined to stop him from sabotaging their operations. June is considered a prodigy by the Republic. She came from a well-known family and studied at the most prestigious military school. She is incredibly loyal to the Republic. But despite this fact, she can’t help admiring Day and his escapades. Until one unfortunate night when June heard a grave news and in an instant her admiration towards Day turned into anger. She will hunt Day down and she would not fail.

I instantly fell in love with the story. Lu’s writing was so vivid and the plot was so great and exciting I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough. The characters are also well-written. I like Day and June a lot. They’re both so intelligent and resourceful. They’re like little Sherlock Holmes! June is so bad-ass, she’s no damsel in distress.

“June has never looked more beautiful than she does now, unadorned and honest, vulnerable yet invincible.”

There is an undeniable chemistry between Day and June, so strong that it makes me feel giddy just by thinking about them. In a way they are like star-crossed lovers. They came from two totally different worlds but in a way they are so much alike. I also thought it was refreshing to have a girl hate a boy before she falls for him. It adds a new twist to the boy-meets-girl story we all know.

“What a joke! Poor little rich girl’s fallen in love with the Republic’s most famous criminal.”

The other characters are very unforgettable too. Some of these characters are Metias, Tess, John and Eden. There is also that mystery about the Patriots and the Colonies. Not much information about these two were revealed in the first book but I suspect more about them will be revealed in the succeeding books.

I am just totally smitten by Legend by Marie Lu and even though I don’t like dystopia much, I absolutely enjoyed this one. This is possibly one of my most favorite dystopia books of all time. I absolutely recommend this to anyone looking for a great read, especially to the people who likes dystopia very much. I guarantee you will not regret reading this.

“Each day means a new twenty-four hours. Each day means everything’s possible again. You live in the moment, you die in the moment, you take it all one day at a time…You try to walk in the light.”

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

11 thoughts on “REVIEW: Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #15: Books I Recommend to Those Who Haven’t Read New Adult and Young Adult | Books Keep Me Sane

  2. I have read the first two books and I love everything you mentioned. I love June’s fierce attitude, and I love that she doesn’t fall for Day the moment she first sees him. It makes her more real, she hated him. I loved the romance and the conflict. It was an amazing read. I must read champion soon.

  3. Pingback: Book Review: “Legend” | The Cheap Reader

  4. I loved this trilogy so much! It’s one of my all time favorite series. Champion is my favorite book out of all the series, although I know a few people who hated the last book but loved the first two. So hopefully you won’t end up disappointed the same way they did.*crosses fingers* Anyway, have fun reading the series, I will definitely look out for your reviews on the other books.

    • I really loved Legend and right now I am reading Prodigy. I just started Prodigy but I’m starting to like it. I have great expectations for this trilogy so I hope I don’t get disappointed! 😀

  5. Pingback: Freebie Friday: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu [INT] | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

