REVIEW: The One (The Selection #3) by Kiera Cass

the one books keep me saneTitle: The One (The Selection #3)

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre: YA Dystopia

Release Date: May 6th 2014

Purchase: Amazon (Hardcover or Kindle)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

The highly anticipated conclusion to Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Timesbestselling Selection series, The One will captivate readers who love dystopian YA fiction and fairy tales. The One is the perfect finale for fans who have followed America’s whirlwind romance since it began–and a swoon-worthy read for teens who have devoured Veronica Roth’sDivergent, Ally Condie’s Matched, or Lauren Oliver’s Delirium.

The Selection changed America Singer’s life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she entered the competition to become the next princess of Illéa, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen–and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she’s made her choice . . . and she’s prepared to fight for the future she wants.

Find out who America will choose in The One, the enchanting, beautifully romantic third book in the Selection series!

mythoughts

I wasn’t very impressed with the first two books in the Selection trilogy but I find myself curios about how the story would end.

The One is the conclusion to the story of America Singer, one of the 35 Selected girls to live in the castle and hope to be the one Prince Maxon would choose to marry. Along the competition America met a lot of hardships including snobbery from the king and sabotage by her fellow contestants. But America met these trials with a head held high. Even when the people around her are mean, she doesn’t let them get to her. She has a really good heart and a strong will. She’s courageous and brave. These are characteristics fit for a princess and possibly, the future queen of Illea.

You are not the world, but you are everything that makes the world good. Without you, my life would still exist, but that’s all it would manage to do.

In The One we get to know more about the rebels who always wreck havoc to the castle. In The Selection and the Elite we only get a glimpse of who these rebels are and what their goals are but in The One, Cass finally sheds a light to the mystery that are the Southern and Northern Rebels.

Despite the added pressure of the competition now that it’s finally coming to an end, I am glad that America and the other girls got to reconcile with each other. I imagine their time in the castle are really memorable to them and all the hardships and challenges they faced just made their friendship stronger.

Cass did a great job in tying all the loose ends together and give a last hurrah for the trilogy. The One was far from perfect, some of the things I hated in the first two books are still present in this one but I don’t want to focus on that now. I am just glad that the book ended nicely. Despite having mixed feelings about this trilogy I feel sad that it has ended, I’d like to read more of America’s adventures (and this time I want it to be written more nicely) but… oh well. So I guess this is good bye for us but America will always be one of my favorite characters because of her good heart and soul.

“This isn’t happily ever after.
It’s so much more than that.”

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

10 thoughts on “REVIEW: The One (The Selection #3) by Kiera Cass

  1. I’m excited reading the first two of the trilogy. I have the copy of the One, I don’t know why I don’t have copies of the two books. Thanks for the review I really like it. 😀

  2. I’m soooo definitely to read this. Though honestly I’m a little bit disappointed of how America was in The Elite 😦 But then I’m getting these positive reviews about The One and now I’m dying inside to read! *and hopefully America will be with Maxon* 😀

  3. The cover is gorgeous!
    I don’t read very often dystopian books,but this trilogy definitely I would read and I will 😀
    Thank you for the great review 🙂

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

