REVIEW: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

fangirl books keep me saneTitle: Fangirl

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: September 10th 2013

Purchase: Amazon (Hardcover or Kindle)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

From the author of the New York Times bestseller Eleanor & Park.

A coming-of-age tale of fan fiction, family and first love. 

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

“Touching and utterly real.” —  Publisher’s Weekly

mythoughts

It is not always that we discover a book that gets us, a book that we feel like it was written for us. And when we do, we feel a deep affinity for it and we always cherish it. I never knew a book could know me so well, could understand my fangirl tendencies. And that is what Fangirl exactly did to me.

Being a fangirl requires a lot from you. You have to have a huge heart to handle all the emotional exhaustion your fandom causes. And being devoted to your fandom/s require/s a lot of commitment. I like the fact that this book addressed the existence of fan fictions. As an aspiring writer myself I have written a few fan fictions and posted some of them online.

In the story we see Cath as this weird, socially awkward hermit and she seems to only devote her life to writing Simon Snow fan fictions. We see her locked up in her room, typing away, and the thing is, she’s not the only one.

“There are other people on the Internet. It’s awesome. You get all the benefits of ‘other people’ without the body odor and the eye contact.”

A lot of fangirls out there are also writing fan fictions as dedicated and as determined as an upcoming debut novelist. And the thing with fan fiction writers is, we don’t get paid if our story reach a million readers, we don’t get book deals out of them. It’s purely a labor of love.

“Underneath this veneer of slightly crazy and mildly socially retarded, I’m a complete disaster.”

Rowell also tackles the issue of LGBT in the book in the form of Simon abd Baz. I don’t really mind the LGBT aspect in the book, I am used to seeing people pairing guys with guys. I am used to it, but I just want to point this out for all the people who are not comfortable with this stuff in the books they read. I am aware that people have varying opinions regarding this topic.

Rainbow Rowell wrote a book dedicated to a special demographic of people loyal and passionate to their fandoms. She wrote a book that I know a lot of people can relate to. We thought we are the only ones until we met the twins Cath and Wren and they taught us that it’s okay and normal to be this obsessed with fictional characters.

It is really great to feel that there’s a book out there that understands your being a fangirl.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

15 thoughts on “REVIEW: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Pingback: Freebie Friday: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and Legend (Legend #1) by Marie Lu [INT] | Books Keep Me Sane

  2. I really want to read this! I read Eleanor and Park a while ago and loved it so I was hoping Fangirl would also be good. Especially because I’m hoping I’ll be able to relate to it a lot more!

  3. I have a copy of Fangirl on Sparky, my Kindle….and up until now, I’ve only read Rainbow Rowell’s adult books: Attachments and Landline (which I loved!). I guess I’m hesitating because I don’t want to be disappointed….YA is not really my thing.

    But from your review, I think there may be a way for me to engage with this book. Thanks!

  4. I am so glad you feel the same way about Fangirl, Farzy!
    It was definitely one f those books that really truly GOT me. I write fanfic, as well, and it was so amazing to read about Cath and realise that maybe the crazy obsession that I have for my fandom isn’t so crazy after all. That there are other people just as in love and obsessed with being a fangirl as I am 😀
    Lovely review ^.^

    • I knooooow right? This book totally gets us. We are not the only ones in the world and we found an ally in a book character! I couldn’t thank Rainbow Rowell enough for writing the book 😀

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

