REVIEW: This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

this song will save your life books keep me saneTitle: This Song Will Save Your Life

Author: Leila Sales

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: September 17th 2013

Purchase: Amazon (Hardcover or Kindle)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Making friends has never been Elise Dembowski’s strong suit. All throughout her life, she’s been the butt of every joke and the outsider in every conversation. When a final attempt at popularity fails, Elise nearly gives up. Then she stumbles upon a warehouse party where she meets Vicky, a girl in a band who accepts her; Char, a cute, yet mysterious disc jockey; Pippa, a carefree spirit from England; and most importantly, a love for DJing.

Told in a refreshingly genuine and laugh-out-loud funny voice, THIS SONG WILL SAVE YOUR LIFE is an exuberant novel about identity, friendship, and the power of music to bring people together.

mythoughts

I feel like This Song Will Save your Life was written just for me. It’s like Leila Sales made a novel about my life because I can relate to everything Elise was going through.

This Song Will Save Your Life follows the story of Elise Dembowski, an unpopular misfit who had no friends at school. After her freshman year she couldn’t take it anymore so she did everything she could to try to be cool so that the popular kids would notice her. When that didn’t work, she thought she was hopeless and tried to kill herself.

I have experienced things that Elise was going through in the book and I can’t help but sympathize with her. Even though I am not suicidal, I have had those moments when I just wanted to disappear from the face of the earth. In this novel I realized I am not the only one with these thoughts. In a way I am relieved that I am not alone, it makes the pain more bearable. Because if they can endure the pain of living, how can I not? Indeed there is strength in number and I found a friend in Elise.

I didn’t want to try to kill myself, didn’t want the blood and the hysterical parents and the guilt,any of it. But sometimes I like the idea of simply not having to be here anymore, not having to deal with my life. As if death could be just an extended vacation.

The story was skillfully written, in my opinion. Sales did an excellent job in portraying a character that a lot of people can relate to. After all how many of us have thought of disappearing before? How many of us have thought that they don’t belong in this world? How many of us have felt they are not good enough, smart enough or pretty enough? I like the fact that after Elise’s failed attempt at suicide she found her true passion in the form of being a disk jockey. The novel goes to show that there are so many reasons to live life and if you opt out of that you are going to miss a lot of things. Life is always worth living for.

“Throughout it all, you are still, always, you: beautiful and bruised, known and unknowable.”

There are also a lot of colorfully written characters like Pippa, Char, Mel and Vicky. They are all essential in leading Elise to her passion and they are memorable in their own way. I do love a book with many memorable and loveable characters because it shows that the plot of the story isn’t bland and that the protagonist doesn’t hoard the entire spotlight.

Reading about DJing is a bit unusual for me, I have never read a book which includes DJing before that’s why I was so intrigued by this book. I also love the recommended playlist in the book. I must say Sales has a great taste in music, I enjoy listening to the songs she listed. You can really tell by the little details in the story that the author did a thorough research before writing the book.

This Song Will Save Your Life is a novel that’s very close to my heart. It’s such a great feeling to find a friend in your favorite book, don’t you think? I recommend this book to anyone who’s searching for an excellent book. Read it, please. You owe it to yourself.

I had once thought that I wanted to get revenge by dying. But getting revenge by living, and living well, was much, much sweeter.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

7 thoughts on “REVIEW: This Song Will Save Your Life by Leila Sales

  1. Pingback: When You Just Want Everything To End | Books Keep Me Sane

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

