#VTRinPH Book Signing Event + Signed Giveaway

NBS signing books keep me sane vtrinph It is always a big thing when an international author visits the Philippines. But when not just one, not two but three New York Times best selling authors visit the Philippines, it is a huge event! More than 2000 people flocked the Glorietta Activity Center last April 26 for the #VTRinPH Book Signing event. It was my very first time attending a book signing event for international authors and I was so excited. There was a Bloggers Forum prior to the public book signing but unfortunately I wasn’t able to attend that event. I arrived at around 8 in the morning and there were already lots of people waiting in line for the registration. When I got my signing pass I was number 334. There wasn’t much to do but wait until the event started. So wait I did.

rsz_img_1895 Finally, it was 3 in the afternoon when the event kicked off. All hell broke loose when Tahereh Mafi, Ransom Riggs and Veronica Rossi came on stage. Banners went up, books were raised in the air and bookworms screamed at the top of their lungs. The three authors were enthusiastically welcomed by their adoring Filipino fans. Before the signing there was a short interview. Unfortunately, I was seated at the far back and there was just so much noise that I wasn’t able to catch the whole interview. But Tahereh did mention that Shatter Me and Under the Never Sky have been optioned for film and Ransom’s Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is already under development. At the mention of this the Filipino fans cheered. At one point of the interview Tahereh and Ransom were asked to tell their love story. The fans also chanted “Kiss! Kiss! Kiss!” And the request was granted by Ransom’s quick peck on Tahereh’s forehead. The trio also answered some questions about their books and how it is like to be a writer. The interview lasted around 20 minutes. After the interview came the book signing– the part everyone was patiently waiting for. When it was my turn to have my books signed I was really nervous and excited at the same time. Veronica was really nice. She asked me, “Hi. How are you?” And I said I was a little nervous and excited at the same time. We chatted a bit about her book. She told me she hoped I enjoyed reading it and I assured her I did. rsz_img_1908 The next author I talked to was Ransom. I told him I saw his interview with Goodreads and he asked, “Was that the one where they made me sing?” And I told him yes. He said it was really embarrassing but I said he’s great at singing and playing the guitar. rsz_1img_1909 Then the last one was Tahereh. At first I didn’t know what to do or what to say, I was just so star-struck. I was just fangirling so hard, but internally of course. I wouldn’t have wanted to freak her out. I did ask her about how to pronounce her name correctly to set the records straight because I noticed that a lot of people are pronouncing her name wrong. Her answer confirmed that my pronunciation of her name was right! Haha! She also gave me a hug which was really sweet and I was just screaming internally because how cool is it that your favorite author hugs you, right? rsz_img_1911 It was my first book signing and I didn’t know what to expect but I had a great time even though there was a lot of people and I didn’t get to interact with the authors much. Still, I am thankful to have the chance to meet them. And if they ever come to the Philippines again, I would attend their book signing in a heartbeat.

Giveaway

giveaway raff

Click the picture to be redirected to the Rafflecopter widget

42 thoughts on “#VTRinPH Book Signing Event + Signed Giveaway

  1. Never! I mean I live in Chile and here you speak spanish so ( there aren’t famous authors ), but I’d love to have a signed book!

  2. I’ve never been to a book signing.. 😦 Don’t think I’ll ever get the chance too.
    Thanks for the giveaway though.

  3. Great recap! I’ve been to Tahereh and Ransom’s book signing last year and Gayle Forman’s book signing earlier this year 🙂 What I’ve learned from both is that it’s important to arrive early to get signing number stubs to avoid waiting until the evening to get books signed 🙂

    • You waited until evening to have your books signed!? O.o This was my first book signing and I arrived at around 8 or 9 and quickly realized my mistake. The next time I’m going to a book signing I will be there at 6 am sharp! LOL.

  4. I’ve never been to book signing before because i’m far from Manila. 😦 But i hope i’ll be able to attend one someday. I’m glad you had fun. Thanks for the giveaway! 🙂

  5. I never met international bloggers. I find it hard to meet them since the signing are in Manila or Cebu. I am from Mindanao. :/ Hope you did enjoy! 🙂

    • I used to live in Mindanao too! I lived there for more than half of my life. I guess that can be a problem so when we moved to Luzon I was excited because it means I am closer to Manila 🙂

  6. re: question

    I actually haven’t yet! Something always, always comes up whenever an author visits here, but hopefully, I can attend Jenny Han’s book signing tour this time.

    • I’m not sure if I can attend Jenny Han’s book signing since it’s in June and we already have school but I’ll try. I hope you can too! And if you do, please tweet me, who knows we might see each other at the event! 😀

  7. That’s so awesome! I don’t know what I’d do if I met Tahereh Mafi . . . probably embarrass myself. xD A few months ago I had the chance to meet Lauren Oliver and some debut authors, which was cool, and I can’t wait to find another signing near me that I can go to!

  8. Ah, this is so amazing! Although I have heard some horror stories about this particular signing, which is really unfortunate. I think it’s awesome that you got to meet some of your favourite authors (and even HUG Tahereh Mafi *squeals*). I met the author of my favourite book earlier this year and it was absolutely fantastic. I was lucky though, because she’s Australian. We don’t get a lot of international authors here, unfortunately.
    I’m glad you had a fantastic time, though, Farzy 😀

    • But I heard you have Book Expo too, like in America? We don’t get lots of international authors here too so when someone visits the Philippines I always try to attend the event 😀

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

