REVIEW: The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass

the elite books keep me saneTitle: The Elite (The Selection #2)

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre: YA Dystopian

Release Date: April 23rd 2013

Purchase: Amazon (Hardcover or Kindle)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

The hotly-anticipated sequel to the New York Timesbestseller The Selection.

Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection. All but six have been sent home. And only one will get to marry Prince Maxon and be crowned princess of Illea.

America still isn’t sure where her heart lies. When she’s with Maxon, she’s swept up in their new and breathless romance, and can’t dream of being with anyone else. But whenever she sees Aspen standing guard around the palace, and is overcome with memories of the life they planned to share. With the group narrowed down to the Elite, the other girls are even more determined to win Maxon over—and time is running out for America to decide.

Just when America is sure she’s made her choice, a devastating loss makes her question everything again. And while she’s struggling to imagine her future, the violent rebels that are determined to overthrow the monarchy are growing stronger and their plans could destroy her chance at any kind of happy ending.

mythoughts

Warning: this review contains lots of whining and bitching about The Elite. I really tried to like this book but failed

I found the first book in this trilogy, The Selection a total mess. The plot was meh and it was so boring. I think the story has a potential though. I read The Elite hoping that it will get better. Too bad it doesn’t.

I really like the idea that there is a kingdom where the prince is going to marry a commoner. It’s interesting to read a book where a prince is going to choose the future princess of Illea out of 36 beautiful young women. It’s all a great idea.

The glitch came down to the writing. Why did Cass have to make it a love triangle? Some of you might not have a problem with it but I do. I hate how the girl can be so indecisive about the two boys. And as the reader, I feel torn apart about which guy to root for.

The pacing is too slow and nothing much was going on. Like I said in my review of The Selection, I wish more details were given about the rebels who frequently attacked the castle. Cass should have given us more details about why the rebels are attacking, what could they possibly want from the king and queen of Illea and whatnot. Stuff that would make the story more engaging and exciting.

I find the world-building of the story to be very poor. I wish there was more back story or explanation about the history of Illea. Because its history plays a great part of the story but we know very little about it.

The truth is, the only bit I find entertaining is Celeste’s bitchiness. I wish she falls down the stairs and break her neck. I seriously hate her! At the same time she’s the only reason why I kept reading The Elite. I am really curious what’s going to happen to her as this trilogy progresses.

Overall, The Elite was blah and it was more disappointing than the first one. I feel bad for writing a negative review of a very popular book that everybody else seems to like but I guess it just doesn’t work for me.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Elite (The Selection #2) by Kiera Cass

  1. It’s so frustrating to read a book that everyone else seems to love and be completely let down by it! I felt that way about that Dan Brown book everyone was going mad about years ago – I actually wondered if I’d accidentally read a different book. Will steer clear of this one I think!

    • So true! And I also feel like there’s something wrong with me because everyone seems to like the book but me! But people will always have varying opinions 😉

  2. Haha I actually forget that it’s a love triangle. I don’t think Aspen is a legitimate choice…or maybe I’m too pro Maxon. I like the series, but I still think that The Elite is better than the Selection. I feel like the rebel thing though is supposed to be the big reveal in the One. I just want to know how it’ll all end.

    • While Maxon is a very charming prince, I find myself rooting for Aspen, maybe because I always tend to root for the underdog? lol. Yeah I think so too but I wish Cass gave us more info about the rebel thing at the start of the series. Even though I didn’t like the series much I still want to read The One because I badly want to know how it will all end. 😀

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

