REVIEW: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

attachments books keep me saneTitle: Attachments

Author: Rainbow Rowell

Genre: Contemporary Romance

Release Date: April 14th 2011

Purchase: Amazon (Paperback or Kindle)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . ”

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained-and captivated-by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?

mythoughts

Attachments is one of those very cute contemporary novels that I think a lot of people can relate to. It started when Lincoln applied to be an Internet security officer at the office where Beth and Jennifer work. He imagined he’d be battling hackers that would try to penetrate and steal the company’s data. Never did he expect that he’d be stuck reading and flagging his co-workers’ email. Beth and Jennifer know that their emails are being monitored but they still talk about their personal lives at work. As Lincoln reads Beth’s email, he is inexplicably drawn to her, but would he be able to muster the courage and introduce himself in real life?

The story is told in Lincoln’s point of view and Beth and Jennifer is being portrayed through their email. I like the fact that it’s told in a guy’s point of view. We are used to the story being told through a female’s voice that it is refreshing to read what guys think in situations like this. Attachments is a very funny and witty book. I like all the characters, they are really well written. But of course, Lincoln and Beth stands out.

I find the way Lincoln acts to be very cute. It’s so funny when he was coming up with scenarios about how he’d introduce himself to Beth. It’s really funny when he sort of freaked out when he realized Beth has a crush on him without realizing who he was. He’s also socially awkward and he’s shy around people, just like me!

Beth is the witty movie review writer. I really envy her job. It’s hard to really get to know Beth and connect with her because for the most part of the book she was portrayed through her email. Still, I really like her. I find myself laughing at Beth’s and Jennifer’s email to each other. She’s a really great friend to Jennifer when she went through tough times in her life.

A lot of people can relate to this story because in the Age of the Internet, meeting new people is as easy as pressing a button and forming relationships online or meeting new people isn’t so hard anymore. This book shows that online relationships or “falling in love” with someone you’ve never met in person is not only normal, it happens to people all the time too.

I do like Attachments for the most part but I find the moment Beth and Lincoln finally met to be too cheesy for my taste. In real life I knew it wouldn’t play out that way. Not in a million years. Still, even if I am a little dissatisfied with the ending, I still like Attachments as a whole, it is one of my favorite Rowell books so far.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

3 thoughts on “REVIEW: Attachments by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Pingback: Book Review: “Attachments” | The Cheap Reader

  2. I keep hearing so much about Rainbow Rowell that I really need to check her out, although the premise of this book, instead of her newest one (I think) is much more interesting to me.

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

