REVIEW: 45 Pounds (More or Less) by K.A. Barson

45 pounds more or less books keep me saneTitle: 45 Pounds (More or Less)

Author: K.A. Barson

Genre: YA Contemporary

Release Date: January 11th 2013

Purchase: Amazon (Hardcover or Kindle)

myrating

star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32star_1_32

Here are the numbers of Ann Galardi’s life:

She is 16.
And a size 17.
Her perfect mother is a size 6.
Her Aunt Jackie is getting married in 10 weeks, and wants Ann to be her bridesmaid.
So Ann makes up her mind: Time to lose 45 pounds (more or less) in 2 1/2 months.

Welcome to the world of infomercial diet plans, wedding dance lessons, embarrassing run-ins with the cutest guy Ann’s ever seen—-and some surprises about her NOT-so-perfect mother.

And there’s one more thing. It’s all about feeling comfortable in your own skin-—no matter how you add it up!

mythoughts

Sometimes you read a novel that is completely blah, other time you stumble upon a book that really speaks to your heart. 45 Pounds (More or Less) is one of the latter. This novel is a rare gem.

Ann Galardi has tried almost every diet plan there is. But every time she starts a new one, she is always bound to fail. That’s why she is still a size 17, and her size 6 mother who pressures her to keep on losing weight isn’t helping her plight at all. When her Aunt Jackie announced she’s going to get married in 2 months, Ann decided it is time to lose weight– or at least try to– so that she can finally shop for dresses her size at her favorite boutique.

Whether we admit it or not, we live in a society where the standard of beauty is the size of the clothes we wear. We see in various forms of media how a beautiful body should look like. And if you don’t fit their standard, you are ugly. Worthless. But we know this isn’t the true measurement of beauty. Even so, we sometimes forget this truth. It sure is easy to drown in self-loathing if you don’t have washboard abs or a curvaceous body. 45 Pounds (More or Less) reminds us that it’s okay to be a tad heavier that a normal person. I mean, can you imagine if all people are stick thin?

It was so easy for me to connect with the story because all my life I was labeled “fat” or “chubby” too. And I have tried to loose weight again and again only to gain it right back.

It doesn’t make sense. I do want to lose weight.  Except I just want it to happen– without all the work and deprivation.

The quote above is my favorite quote in the book because I can totally relate to it. Losing weight requires discipline, hard work and dedication and if you don’t have those, you just wish you can attain your desired weight at a snap of your finger. It makes sense to want that but that’s not possible.

It is also painful on your part if the people in your life pushes you to do something you don’t want to or be someone else you’re not. Ann’s perfect mother can sometimes go overboard in supporting her daughter in her diet plans. But instead of offering help, her mother’s eagerness puts pressure on Ann’s shoulders.

It’s always hard when you think someone who loves you doesn’t think you’re good enough.

I think it’s also nice for Barson to give Ann a love interest. Just because you’re size 17 doesn’t mean no boys can see your beauty. I think Ann and Jon are perfect for each other. I am practically swooning!

But who am I? I’m just a girl who served him a pretzel, bought a pair of sneakers from him, and puked on his. Even Disney can’t spin that into a romance.

I think 45 Pounds (More or Less) should be read by every teenager who thinks they are ugly or worthless just because they think they are fat. There are a lot of life lessons one can learn in this book. This is a novel fit for a teenager and it perfectly captures the plight of a girl struggling to attain perfection. 45 Pounds (More or Less) is officially one of my favorite books of all time.

siggie

Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: 45 Pounds (More or Less) by K.A. Barson

  1. I can relate to you and to Ann as well. I have two weddings to attend in December and I’m a bridesmaid in one and a maid-of-honor in the other so I’m really pressuring myself to lose a little weight but it’s hard to maintain that will and discipline. Thanks for putting this book on my radar. Adding it now to my TBR list 🙂

I read every comment you make and I will try to respond to each of them

